The board, appointed by the Governor, consults with and advises the Health Facilities Division in matters of policy affecting hospital administration and reviews and approves rules and standards authorized by law prior to their approval by the state Board of Health and adoption by the Department.

Inspections Division

Sherry Hopkins, administrator: Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319-0083; 515/281-7114

Regulates, inspects and licenses food service and food-related establishments, hotels and motels, bingo games, raffles, and games of skill and chance. The division also inspects barber and beauty shops, tanning bed operations (under a contract with the Department of Public Health), egg handlers, and food warehouses (under a contract with the U.S. Department of Agriculture).

Investigations Division

Nickolas Brown, administrator, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, 50319-0083; 515/281-6377

This division investigates alleged fraud in the areas of food stamps, medicaid, and the family investment program (FIP), and recovers overpayments made in state public assistance programs. They also look into alleged medicaid fraud by health care providers, and prevents the issuance of public assistance funds to ineligible applicants through the review of error-prone applications for aid. The division tracks down the suspected theft of public assistance warrants and authorizes or denies their replacement as well as conducts professional practice investigations when requested by certain licensing boards.

Iowa Citizens' Foster Care Review Board

De Ann Jones, director: Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319-0083; 515/281-7621

JERRY FOXHOVEN, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1998 HARRIET VANDE HOEF, vice chair, Harris; term expires 1998 KATIE YOUBERG, Sac City; term expires 1998 STEVE KUHN, Indianola; term expires 1998 STANLEY WIERSON, Marion; term expires 1998 LIL PERRY, Washington; term expires 1998 LORENZO JASSO, Des Moines; term expires 1998

The Foster Care Review Board was created in 1984 and works to ensure that Iowa's network of child welfare services effectively provides safety, permanency, and an increased sense of family health and well-being. The agency works at both the state and local level, using citizen volunteers to increase community awareness, involvement and commitment to participate in the creation of community evironments that nurture permanent, healthy families. The state-level program is guided by a seven member board that is responsible for overseeing all agency programs. In addition, a Foster Care Registry of children receiving foster care is maintained to provide data and is utilized in writing an annual report, making recommendations to improve the child welfare system.

Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission

Jack P. Ketterer, administrator: 717 E. Court Avenue, Ste. B, Des Moines 50309; 515/281-7352

RITA SEALOCK, chair, Council Bluffs; term expires 1999 JACQUELYNE ALLEN. Lamoni; term expires 1998 WILLIAM "BILL" HANSEN, Des Moines; term expires 1999 BRADLEY R. PEYTON, Urbandale; term expires 2000 HAROLD WHITE. Estherville; term expires 2000

This commission regulates pari-mutuel racing, slot machine operations and riverboat gambling in the state. The Commission seeks to preserve the integrity and maintain the confidence in these industries and in performing its duties, the Commission investigates the eligibility of applicants for a license and selects from among competing applicants the individual(s) who best serve the interests of the citizens of lowa.

The five-member body, appointed by the Governor, adopts standards for the licensing of racing industry occupations and for the standards for the licensing of racing industry occupations and for the operation of race meetings at licensed facilities. Standards also are adopted by the Commission for the operation of excursion gambling boats (riverboats), as well as the licensing requirements for operators.

State Public Defender

William L. Wegman, state public defender; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319-0083; 515/281-6186

The mission of the State Public Defender is to provide high-quality legal representation to indigent clients who are accused of committing crimes or involved in juvenile court matters. By specializing in criminal defense work and juvenile matters, the 162 attorneys and support staff of the State Public Defender provide efficient and cost-effective representation for their clients.

The State Public Defender system includes an Appellate Defender Office that handles indigent defender cases on appeal for the entire state. The office is located in Des Moines.

IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION

Gary W. Nichols, Executive Director; 200 10th Street, Fourth Floor, Des Moines 50309; 515/281-3501

ROBERT E. PHIPPS, chair, Fairfield; term expires 2001 RUTH ANN BARRY, vice chair, Irwin; term expires 1999 DR. JOHN V. HARTUNG, secretary, Indianola; term expires 1998 MICHELLE DURAND-ADAMS, Clive; term expires 1998 JOHN MCDONALD, Dallas Center; term expires 2001 KATHLEEN MC GREAL, Strawberry Point; term expires 1998 ROBERT G. MILLEN, West Des Moines; term expires 1998 REP. CHRISTOPHER RANTS, Sioux City; term expires 1999 SEN. DON REDFERN, Cedar Falls; term expires 2001 R. WAYNE RICHEY, Des Moines; term expires 1999 TED STILWILL, term is continuous by office ALICE L. VILLONE, Sioux City; term expires 2000

The Iowa College Student Aid Commission (ICSAC) supports postsecondary education in Iowa by:

- Administering income sensitive student financing that promotes access and academic choice, academic recognition, and professional staffing in critical shortage fields.
- 2. Providing coordinated information describing student aid programs and Iowa's postsecondary education.
- 3. Effectively and efficiently administering existing programs which have been authorized by state and federal governments.
- Continually evaluating and promoting changes to improve student assistance programs.

The Iowa College Student aid Commission (ICSAC) is responsible for planning and administering programs of assistance to both public and independent colleges and universities throughout Iowa. Represented on the 12-member commission are the Board of Regents, the Department of Education, Iowa independent colleges and universities, Iowa community colleges, each house of the Iowa Legislature, Iowa lending institutions, Iowa students, the Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation (ISLLC), and the general public. The lender, student, general public and independent college, community college, and ISLLC representatives are appointed by the governor. The director of the Department of Education serves by virtue of office. The remaining four members are appointed by the bodies they represent.

Established in April 1964, to implement the federal assistance program for construction of academic facilities provided by the Higher Education Facilities Act of 1963, the commission now administers the programs described below.

State of lowa Scholarship

In May 1965, the Iowa Legislature authorized establishment of a state-supported scholarship program. The state appropriation for awards in 1997-98 was \$474,800. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement determined by class rank and American College Test Program (ACT) or Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) scores.