Osteopathic Forgivable Loans – Since 1991, the Osteopathic Forgivable Loan Program has provided state assistance to Iowa residents attending Des Moines University. Funding for 2009-2010 is \$91,668. The loans are forgiven if the physicians practice medicine in Iowa for one to two years, depending on the number of loans used to fund a portion of their education expenses.

Loan Forgiveness Programs – The commission administers loan forgiveness programs for physicians, teachers, nurses, and nurse educators. The Osteopathic Physician Recruitment Program is funded at \$312,821 for 2009-2010. The Iowa Teacher Shortage Loan Forgiveness Program is funded at \$438,282 for 2009-2010. The Registered Nurse and Nurse Education Loan Forgiveness Program is funded at \$90,293 for 2009-2010.

Governor Terry E. Branstad Iowa State Fair Scholarship Program – In 1998, the General Assembly asked the commission to administer the Governor Terry E. Branstad Iowa State Fair Scholarship. Recipients receive a one-time award based on participation at the Iowa State Fair.

Administration of Private Scholarships – Since 1992, several businesses and civic organizations have requested technical assistance in the creation and administration of scholarships and forgivable loan programs. The commission staff provides assistance by serving on selection panels and by providing technical assistance on program requirements and the development of application materials.

Data and Reports

Higher Education Data – The commission maintains a database of enrollment, financial aid, alumni, and other data about Iowa colleges and universities. The database is maintained through surveys conducted by the commission and with the cooperation of the National Center for Education Statistics. An annual digest based on the data has been published since 1975 and is available on the Internet at www.iowacollegeaid.org/researchers/index.html.

Diversity Report – Since 1988, the commission has collected and maintained student and faculty ethnic diversity reports from Iowa colleges and universities receiving state grant moneys. Information contained in these annual reports reflects the institutions' commitment to recruit and retain minority students and faculty. Copies of the most recent reports are available on the Internet at www.iowacollegeaid.org/researchers/index.html.

HIGHER EDUCATION LOAN AUTHORITY

§12.30, 261A.5, 261A.6

505 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1040, Des Moines 50309; (515)282-3769

Maribeth Wright, Executive Director Serves at Pleasure of Authority

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Dennis Barnum	Gowrie	April 30, 2011
John V. Hartung	Indianola	April 30, 2015
Dennis Houlihan	Dubuque	April 30, 2012
Janet Piller	Urbandale	April 30, 2014
Stephanie Savage	Dubuque	April 30, 2010

Ex officio, nonvoting member:

Nicole Jones, designee of Treasurer of StateStatutory

STUDENT LOAN LIQUIDITY CORPORATION

College Aid Commission Resolution (May 14, 1979) 6775 Vista Drive, Ashford II, West Des Moines 50266; (515)243-5626 or (800)243-7552

Name	City	Term Ending
Catherine Beyerink	Sioux City	June 30, 2013
Timothy Bottaro	Sioux City	June 30, 2012
Laurie Hempen	New London	June 30, 2010

Christine Hensley	Des Moines	June 30, 2010
•	Ames	
Patricia Keir	Bettendorf	June 30, 2010
John O'Byrne	Cresco	June 30, 2011
Robert W. Sackett	Okoboji	June 30, 2013
Frank Thomas	Des Moines	June 30, 2012
J. Marc Ward	Des Moines	June 30, 2011

Ex officio member:

Thomas B. Gronstal, Superintendent of Banking

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Ch 546

200 East Grand Avenue, Suite 370, Des Moines 50309; (515)281-6514; www.state.ia.us/government/com

James E. Forney, DirectorServes at Pleasure of Governor

The Department of Commerce was created to coordinate and administer the various regulatory, service, and licensing functions of the state relating to the conducting of business and commerce in the state.

The chief administrative officer of the department is the director. The director is appointed by the Governor from among those individuals who serve as heads of the divisions within the department. A division head appointed to be the director fulfills the responsibilities and duties of the director in addition to the individual's responsibilities and duties as the head of a division. The director serves at the pleasure of the Governor. If the office of director becomes vacant, the vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment was made. The department consists of the following divisions:

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES DIVISION

§123.4, 123.10, 546.2, 546.9

1918 Southeast Hulsizer Road, Ankeny 50021; (515)281-7402

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES COMMISSION

8123.5

Alcoholic Beverages Division, 1918 Southeast Hulsizer Road, Ankeny 50021; (515)281-7443

Name	City	Term Ending
Richard Hunsaker, Chair	Carroll	April 30, 2011
James Clayton	Iowa City	April 30, 2014
Gayle Collins	Des Moines	April 30, 2010
Mary Hunter	Urbandale	April 30, 2012
Greg Nashleanas	Sioux City	April 30, 2013

The Alcoholic Beverages Division was created administratively within the Department of Commerce to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer, wine, and alcoholic liquor. The division also has the sole power to buy, import, and sell at wholesale all alcoholic liquors in the state. Total funds generated in fiscal year 2009 were in excess of \$104 million, with over \$85.9 million being directly deposited into the State General Fund. The wholesaling of liquor to package liquor stores accounted for approximately \$73.6 million of the total transfer to the State General Fund.

An Alcoholic Beverages Commission was created within the division and is composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. Commission