Environmental Protection Commission

JAMES BRAUN, Lattimer; term expires 2003; ELIZABETH CHRISTIANSEN, Iowa City; term expires 2003; WILLIAM EHM, Creston; term expires 2001; RANDAL GIANNETTO, Marshalltown; term expires 2001; ROZANNE KING, Mondamin; term expires 2001; KATHRYN MURPHY, LeMars; term expires 2001; GARY PRIEBE, Algona; term expires 2003; TERRANCE TOWNSEND, Newton; term expires 2001; RITA VENNER, Breda; term expires 2003

Natural Resources Commission

PAUL CHRISTIANSEN, Mt. Vernon; term expires 2005; RICHARD GARRELS, Mt. Plcasant; term expires 2003; ANTHONY HOUGH, Harlan; term expires 2003; MARIAN L. KIEFFER, Bellevue; term expires 2001; CAROL KRAMER, Newton; term expires 2005; JOAN SCHNEIDER, Okobojí; term expires 2001; WILLIAM SULLIVAN, Cantril; term expires 2005; State Forester: MIKE BRANDRUP; State Geologist: DONALD KOCH

Preserves, State Advisory Board For - c/o Iowa Department of Natural Resources; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5145

DIANE FORD-SHIVVERS, Norwalk; term expires 2000; KATHY GOURLEY, Johnston; term expires 2001; JOEL HANES, Mason City; term expires 1999; GARY PHILLIPS, Estherville; term expires 1999; JOHN STEEGE, Maynard; term expires 2000; LOIS TIFFANY, Ames; term expires 2001; PAUL W. JOHNSON, Des Moines; director, Dept. of Natural Resources, Statutory

The 61st General Assembly in 1965 authorized the establishment of a state system of preserves to maintain areas with unusual flora, fauna, geological, archaeological, scenic, or historical features as nearly as possible in their natural condition. The advisory board will recommend dedication of certain areas as preserves, make rules and regulations for their management, and recommend the inclusion of additional public/private lands in the preserves system.

BOARD OF PAROLE

Vacant, executive director 420 Keo Way, Des Moines 50319 515/242-5747 www.netins.net/showcase/jdwhite/ibop/cgi-bin/homepage.cgi

CHARLES W. LARSON, chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 2002 KAREN MUELHAUPT, Des Moines; term expires 2003 JACKLYN ROMP, Fayette; term expires 2001 CURTIS JENKINS, Des Moines; term expires 2001 ELIZABETH WALKER, Des Moines; term expires 2000

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole consists of five members appointed for terms of four years by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. The board is responsible directly to the governor. From those five members, the chairperson of the board is selected by the governor and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board constitute a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories. The board is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms and mandatory sentences, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. The board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in Iowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer. The board is also charged with the responsibility of approving work release, making recommendations to the governor concerning executive elemency and conducting research and surveys relating to the effectiveness of the corrections system.