PAROLE, BOARD OF

Richard E. George, executive director; Capitol Annex, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4818

WALTER L. SAUR, chair, Oelwein; term expires 1998 BARBARA BINNIE, Des Moines; term expires 1999 CHARLES HURLEY, Fayette; term expires 2001 CURTIS JENKINS, Des Moines; term expires 2000 ELIZABETH WALKER, Des Moines; term expires 2000

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole consists of five members appointed for terms of four years by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. The board is responsible directly to the governor. From those five members, the chairperson of the board is selected by the governor and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board constitute a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories. The board is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms and mandatory sentences, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. The board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in Iowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer. The board is also charged with the responsibility of approving work release, making recommendations to the governor concerning executive clemency and conducting research and surveys relating to the effectiveness of the corrections system.

PERSONNEL, DEPARTMENT OF

Linda G. Hanson, director; Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319-0150; 515/281-3351

The 71st General Assembly passed an Act establishing, in Iowa, a central agency responsible for personnel management. Duties and responsibilities of the agency include the following: policy development; planning and research; employment activities and transactions including recruitment, testing, and certification of persons seeking employment or promotion; compensation and benefits; equal employment opportunity and affirmative action; education and training; personnel records and administration, the negotiation and administration of collective bargaining agreements on behalf of the executive branch; and the administration of the Iowa Public Employees Retirement System.

Specific powers and duties of the department, its director, and the boards and committees within the department are set forth in Chapters 19A, 19B, 20, 70A, 97A, and 97B of the *Code of Iowa* and other provisions of law. The director of the department is appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, and serves at the pleasure of the governor, subject to reconfirmation after four years in office. The personnel management powers and duties of the department do not extend to the legislative or judicial branches of state government, except for functions related to administering compensation and benefits programs.

IPERS Investment Board

600 East Court Ave., P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306; 515/281-0020

SANDRA BENEDETT, Waterloo (active member); term expires 1999 LINDA G. HANSON, Iowa Department of Personnel; ex-officio, without vote BRUCE KELLEY, Des Moines (insurance); term expires 2001 SEN. JOHN KIBBIE, Emmetsburg MICHAEL LOGAN, Coralville (retired member); term expires 1998 REP. MONA MARTIN, Davenport KIM REYNOLDS, Osceola; term expires 2001 DONALD SNYDER, Forest City (banking); term expires 2003 JOANN STOCKDALE, Spirit Lake (industrial); term expires 1999

The IPERS Investment Board consists of nine members and includes a member of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate and a member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House. An executive of a domestic life