PAROLE, BOARD OF

Richard E. George, executive director; Barbara J. Freeman, executive assistant; Capitol Annex, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4818

WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein, chair; term expires 1994 BARBARA BINNIE, Des Moines; term expires 1995 ROBERT A. JACKSON, SR., Des Moines; term expires 1993 KITTIE KNAUER, Des Moines; term expires 1996

JOANNE C. LORENCE, Atlantic; term expires 1993

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole consists of five members appointed for terms of four years by the governor subject to confirmation by the Senate. The board is responsible directly to the governor. The chairperson of the board is appointed, from those five members, by the governor and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board shall constitute a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. The board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in Iowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer. The board is also charged with the responsibility of approving and revoking work release; making recommendations to the governor concerning executive elemency; and conducting research and surveys relating to the effectiveness of the corrections system.

PERSONNEL, DEPARTMENT OF

Linda G. Hanson, director; Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319-0150; 515/281-3351

EDWARD T. SHONSEY, commission chair, West Des Moines; term expires 1993 ELIZABETH T. BURMEISTER, Des Moines; term expires 1993 MERLIN D. HULSE, Clarence; term expires 1995 CAROL J. MC CARTY, Sheldon; term expires 1993 ELSIE E. MELLOTT, Red Oak; term expires 1997

The 71st General Assembly passed an act establishing in Iowa a central agency responsible for personnel management. Duties and responsibilities of the agency include the following: policy development, planning and research; employment activities and transactions, including recruitment, testing, and certification of personnel seeking employment or promotion; compensation and benefits; equal employment opportunity and affirmative action; education and training; personnel records and administration, including the negotiation and administration of collective bargaining agreements on behalf of the executive branch; and for a personnel commission consisting of five members, appointed by the governor to six-year terms and subject to approval of two-thirds of the Senate.

Specific powers and duties of the department, its director, and the boards and commissions within the department are set forth in Chapter 19A and Chapters 19B, 20, 79, 97A, and 97B of the Code of Iowa and other provisions of law. The director of the department is appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, and serves at the pleasure of the governor, subject to reconfirmation after four years in office. The personnel management powers and duties of the department do not extend to the legislative or judicial branches of state government, except for functions related to administering compensation and benefits programs.

Investment Board (IPERS)

E. 6th and Court Ave., P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306; 515/281-5800

SANDRA BENEDETTE, Waterloo (active member); term expires 1993 PAUL FRANK, Oelwein (retired member); term expires 1998 LINDA G. HANSON, Iowa Department of Personnel; ex-officio, without vote ROBB KELLEY, Des Moines (insurance); term expires in 1995 SEN. JOHN KIBBIE, Emmetsburg DONALD E. SNYDER, Forest City (banking); term expires 1997 JOANNE STOCKDALE, Milford; term expires 1993