Parole, Board of

Richard E. George, executive secretary; Barbara J. Freeman, operations manager; Jewett Bldg., 2nd Floor, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4818

BARBARA BINNIE, Des Moines; full time, term expires 1988 L. VIRGINIA HARPER, Fort Madison; part time, term expires 1988 ROBERT A. JACKSON, SR., Des Moines; full time, term expires 1989 CHARLES W. LARSON, Newton; part time, term expires 1989

WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein; term expires 1990

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole consists of five members, three who serve full time and two who serve part time. The board is responsible directly to the governor and is attached to the department of corrections for the purpose of receiving routine administrative and support services. Board members are appointed by the governor for staggered four-year terms from July first of the year of appointment, except appointees to fill vacancies who shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term, and are subject to confirmation by the senate. The chairperson of the board shall be elected by the members of the Board to a term of one year and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the Board shall constitute a quorum to transact business.

The Board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. The Board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in Iowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer. The Board is also charged with the responsibility of approving and revoking work release, making recommendations to the governor concerning executive clemency and conducting research and surveys relating to the effectiveness of the corrections system.

CULTURAL AFFAIRS, DEPARTMENT OF

William H. Jackson, executive director; East 12th and Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-6258

Cultural Attairs Advisory Council

JULIANNE E. ANDERSON, chairperson, Cedar Rapids; term expires June 30, 1990 LARRY L. BRANDSTETTER, Red Oak; Arts Council chairperson ELAINE G. ESTES, Des Moines; term expires June 30, 1990 B.J. FURGERSON, Waterloo; President, Iowa Public Broadcasting Board NANCE A. McMINIMEE, Denison; term expires June 30, 1988 NORMAN McMULLIN, Dubuque; Library Commission chairperson JAN SHOTWELL, Des Moines; term expires June 30, 1988 JOSEPH W. WALT, Ph.D., Indianola; State Historical Society Board of Trustees chairperson

JAMES W. WHITAKER, Ph.D., Ames; term expires June 30, 1990

The Department of Cultural Affairs was created by the 71st General Assembly in 1986 as part of the comprehensive, statewide reorganization plan. The department combines the State Hisotorical Society, State Library of Iowa, Iowa Arts Council, Terrace Hill Commission, and Iowa Public Television into a single agency, with Iowa Public Television retaining a degree of autonomy. (See Iowa Public Television.)

The Department of Cultural Affairs is charged with developing the state's interest in the areas of the arts, history, libraries, and other cultural matters for Iowans and visitors. It administers the Iowa Community Cultural Grant Program (ICCG), which provides funds to cities and community groups for the development of a city's historical, ethnic, and cultural heritages. The department provides for the improvement of library services for all Iowans, and promotes cooperation among the state's many libraries. It also stimulates and encourages the study and presentation of the performing and visual arts and public interest and participation in them, and implements tourism-related arts and history projects that promote an awareness and understanding of local, state, and regional history. Additionally, the department meets