PAROLE. BOARD OF

Richard E. George, executive secretary: Jewett Bldg., 2nd Floor, Des Moines 50819: 515-281-4818

L. VIRGINIA HARPER, Fort Madison; term expires 1989 W. CAESAR SMITH, Des Moines; term expires 1988 WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein; term expires 1987 JACQUELINE DAY, Des Moines; term expires 1985 THOMAS R. ELLER, Denison; term expires 1986 CHARLES W. LARSON, Newton; term expires 1986 ELDON LEONARD, Ankeny; term expires 1986

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole consists of seven members. Not more than four members shall belong to the same political party. At least three members shall be practicing attorneys at the time of appointment. Each member shall serve for five years from May first of the year of appointment, except appointees to fill vacancies who shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term. The chairperson of the board shall be elected by the members of the Board to a term of one year and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the Board shall constitute a quorum to transact business.

The Board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. The Board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the Bureau of Community Corrections Services of the Department of Corrections. usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

PHARMACY EXAMINERS. BOARD OF

Norman C. Johnson, executive secretary; 1209 East Court. Des Moines 50319: 515-281-5944

ALAN M. SHEPLEY, pharmacist, Mt. Vernon; term expires 1987 M.L. UNDERWOOD, Clinton; term expires 1987

G.W. STAPP, pharmacist, Oskaloosa; term expires 1987

ROLLIN C. BRIDGE, Lamoni; term expires 1986

MELBA SCAGLIONE, Des Moines; term expires 1986

JERRY M. HARTLEIP, pharmacist, Waterloo; term expires 1985

JOHN F. RODE, pharmacist, Mt. Pleasant, term expires 1985

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy originated on April 23, 1880, at the direction of the Executive Department. The commission then perfected an organization known as the state Board of Pharmacy on May 5, 1880. The board was composed of three members. At this time, through the Pharmacy Act under Chapter 75, the newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination. Thus, the Board of Pharmacy came into being for the protection of public health, welfare and safety.

The present board consists of seven members-five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the governor for three year terms and function under the statutory authority of Chapters 147, 155, 203, 203A, 204 and 205, Code of Iowa, 1985. The board has the responsibility for administering competency examinations and issues licenses to qualified applicants.

Through the executive secretary, the board maintains all records relating to continuing education and licensure by examination or reciprocity, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees, and issues all new and renewal licenses to those persons engaged in the practice of pharmacy.

The board has the authority to promulgate administrative rules and promotes and enforces minimum professional standards of practice.