#### MIDWEST INTERSTATE LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE WASTE COMMISSION §457B.1(3)

Department of Natural Resources, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-3388 Brian Tormey, Iowa representative to Commission

#### NATURAL RESOURCE COMMISSION

§455A.5

Department of Natural Resources, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-8650

Name	City	Term Ending
Margo Underwood, Chair	Clear Lake	April 30, 2017
Martin Branstad	Des Moines	April 30, 2019
Conrad Clement	Cresco	April 30, 2017
Richard Francisco	Lucas	April 30, 2015
Sally Prickett	Glenwood	April 30, 2017
Phyllis Reimer	Crescent	April 30, 2019
Dennis Schemmel	Grimes	April 30, 2015

# STATE ADVISORY BOARD FOR PRESERVES

§465C.2

Department of Natural Resources, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-5384

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Lynn Alex	Iowa City	June 30, 2017
Inger Lamb	Polk City	June 30, 2017
Kirk Larsen	Decorah	June 30, 2015
Leesa McNeil	Sioux City	June 30, 2015
Wayne Phipps	Glenwood	June 30, 2014
Thomas Putnam	Boone	June 30, 2014
Bruce Trautman, designee of Director, Department of Natural Resources Statutory		

The General Assembly in 1965 authorized the establishment of a state system of preserves to maintain areas with unusual flora, fauna, geological, archaeological, scenic, or historical features as nearly as possible in their natural condition. The advisory board recommends dedication of certain areas as preserves, makes rules and regulations for their management, and recommends the inclusion of additional public or private lands in the preserves system. Preserve designation provides an area with the highest form of protection the state of Iowa offers for the public benefit.

### **BOARD OF PAROLE**

Ch 904A

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 3, Des Moines 50319; (515) 725-5757; www.bop.state.ia.us

Name	City	Term Ending
Jason Carlstrom, Chair	Spirit Lake	April 30, 2014
Doris Kelley, Vice Chair	Waterloo	April 30, 2014
James Felker	Hiawatha	April 30, 2017
W. Thomas Phillips	Waukee	April 30, 2016
Sheila Wilson	West Des Moines	April 30, 2017
Alternate members		
Nancy Boyd	Urbandale	April 30, 2017

W. Ray Richardson	Waterloo	April 30, 2017
	Des Moines	

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the General Assembly. The board consists of five members, and three alternate members, appointed to terms of four years by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate and is supported by staff responsible for victim services, parole liaisons and investigators, and an administrative law judge. The board is responsible directly to the Governor. From those five members, the chairperson and vice chairperson of the board are selected by the Governor and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board constitutes a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the responsibility to interview and consider inmates for parole and work release, investigate parole and work release programs within the state of Iowa and nationwide, make recommendations to the Governor regarding clemency and commutation applications, and provide technical assistance related to the board's purposes to public and private entities. The board is required to review for release each inmate incarcerated in Iowa each year except those serving life sentences or sentences where a mandatory minimum term has not yet been served. The board utilizes evidence-based practices to assist in making release decisions and maintains a risk assessment protocol designed to help keep communities safe. The board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in Iowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

## IOWA COMPREHENSIVE PETROLEUM UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK FUND BOARD

§455G.4

2700 Westown Parkway, Suite 320, West Des Moines 50266; (515) 225-9263

Name	City	Term Ending/Type	
Douglas Beech, Chair	Ankeny	April 30, 2017	
Karen Andeweg	Urbandale	April 30, 2015	
Patricia Beck	Carroll	April 30, 2016	
Dawn Carlson	Dallas Center	April 30, 2015	
Timothy Gartin	Ames	April 30, 2017	
N. Kurt Mumm, Jr	Johnston	April 30, 2016	
Joseph Barry, designee of Department of Management		Statutory	
Jake Friedrichsen, designee of Treasurer of State		Statutory	
Chuck Gipp, Director, Department of Natural Resources			
Nonvoting member			

Jeff W. Robinson, designee of Legislative Services Agency...... Statutory

The Iowa Comprehensive Petroleum Underground Storage Tank (UST) Fund Board was created in 1989 with several goals. These goals were to create adequate and reliable financial assurance for the costs of cleanup on preexisting (prior to October 26, 1990) releases of petroleum from underground storage tanks, create a financial responsibility assurance mechanism (insurance) to pay for future releases, minimize societal costs and environmental damage, and maintain Iowa's rural petroleum distribution network, all as interim measures. The payment for releases preexisting on October 26, 1990, is the remaining goal to be met.

The board's statutes provide for the reimbursement of eligible claimants for remedial claims, i.e., those claims reported prior to October 26, 1990; and retroactive claims, the few claims that were being addressed prior to the creation of the UST Fund; and innocent landowner claims, i.e., those preexisting releases that had occurred prior to the October 26, 1990, deadline but were not reported until much later.

The board administers various funds from which to make reimbursement for the work required by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to address risks to health created by the eligible releases.