BOARD OF PAROLE

Ch 904A

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 3, Des Moines 50319; (515)725-5757; www.bop.state.ia.us

Clarence Key Jr., Executive Director.....Serves at Pleasure of Board

		Serves at/
Name	City	Term Ending Date
Elizabeth Robinson, Chair	Des Moines	Pleasure of Governor
Karen Muelhaupt, Vice Chair	West Des Moines	Pleasure of Governor
Alfredo Alvarez	Des Moines	April 30, 2009
Richard Bordwell	Washington	April 30, 2008
Curtis S. Jenkins	West Des Moines	April 30, 2009

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the General Assembly. The Board of Parole consists of five members appointed to terms of four years by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. The board is responsible directly to the Governor. From those five members, the chairperson and vice chairperson of the board are selected by the Governor and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board constitutes a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of inmates confined in the state penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories. The board is authorized to release on parole any inmate, except those serving life terms and mandatory sentences, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. The board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in lowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer. The board is also charged with the responsibility of approving work release, making recommendations to the Governor concerning executive elemency, and conducting research and surveys relating to the effectiveness of the corrections system.

PREVENTION OF DISABILITIES POLICY COUNCIL

§225B.3

Center for Disabilities and Development, Attn: Kay DeGarmo, Iowa City 52241; (319)353-7050

Name	City	Term Ending Date	
Christopher Atchison	Iowa City	April 30, 2009	
	Iowa City		
	Ankeny		
	Solon		
Patricia Moreland	West Des Moines	April 30, 2008	
Marianne Nehus	Davenport	April 30, 2008	
Frank Strong	Des Moines	April 30, 2009	
	Bettendorf		
Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly:			
	Senate		
David Johnson	Ocheyedan	January 12, 2009	
Frank Wood	Eldridge	January 12, 2009	
House			
Polly Granzow	Eldora	January 12, 2009	
Wesley Whitead	Sioux City	January 12, 2009	