The board conducts examinations and issues licenses to both registered nurses and licensed practical nurses.

Since 1907, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of professional nursing was enacted 62,766 registered nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1980 fiscal year, 25,739 registered nurses renewed their licenses.

Since 1949, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of practical nursing was enacted, 18,970 licensed practical nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1980 fiscal year, 10,401 licensed practical nurses renewed their licenses.

Through the executive director, the board keeps all records pertaining to the licensure of nurses, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees, and issues all

licenses to practice nursing.

The board is responsible for the initial and on-going approval of schools of nursing. At the present time, there are 40 schools in Iowa preparing the registered nurse and 27 preparing the licensed practical nurse.

Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission

Colony Building, Second floor, 507 10th St., Des Moines 50319

I. JOHN ROSSI, chairman, West Des Moines; term expires 1982. HUBERT W. RANDELS, Des Moines; term expires 1986. PATRICIA RHODES CEPICAN, Davenport; term expires 1984. CHARLES FROST STRUTT, hearing officer. MARY L. OLSON, executive secretary.

The Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission was established by act of the Iowa Legislature effective July 1, 1972. Chapter 88 of the Code designates the commissioner of labor to administer and enforce the act and the Review Commission, a separate and independent agency, to adjudicate appeals. It is also the Review Commission's responsibility to hear cases under the Elevator Code (Chapter 104).

Board of Parole

Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, 50319

WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein, Republican; term expires April 30, 1982. WILLIAM C. CRIBBS, Waterloo; term expires April 30, 1983. L. VIRGINIA HARPER, Fort Madison, Democrat; term expires April 30, 1984. JACQUELINE DAY, Des Moines, Republican; term expires April 30, 1985. RICHARD F. NAZETTE, Cedar Rapids, Republican; term expires April 30, 1985. DONALD L. OLSON, West Des Moines, executive secretary.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole shall consist of five electors of the state. Not more than three members shall belong to the same political party. At least two members shall be practicing attorneys-at-law at the time of appointment. Each member shall serve for five years, from May 1 of the year of appointment (except appointees to fill vacancies who shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term). The chairperson of the board shall be elected by the members of the board to a term of one year and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board shall constitute a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories, and is authorized to release on parole, any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. On July 1, 1968, the supervision of parolees and probationers was delegated by statute to the Department of Social Services. However, the board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the Bureau of Community Correction Services of the Department of Social Services, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

The board also serves in an advisory capacity to the governor, since under the law, all applicants for restoration of citizenship rights, pardons or commutations in felony cases, must be referred to the board by the governor for study and recommendation before he may act upon them.

Board of Pharmacy Examiners

1209 East Court, Des Moines 50319

Appointed by the governor.

A.J. PLAMER, pharmacist, chairperson, Des Moines; term expires 1983.

D.D. KILLION, pharmacist, Red Oak; term expires 1982.

R.E. BELLINGER, pharmacist, Fort Dodge; term expires 1984.

M.W. EGGLESTON, pharmacist, Waverly; term expires 1982.

M.L. UNDERWOOD, Mason City; term expires 1984.

V.M. FIEDLER, vice chairperson, Spencer; term expires 1983.

N.C. JOHNSON, pharmacist, Des Moines, executive secretary.

G.W. STAPP, pharmacist, Oskaloosa; term expires 1984.

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy originated on April 23, 1880, at the direction of the state Executive Department. The commission then perfected an organization known as the state Board of Pharmacy on May 5, 1880. The board was composed of three members. At this time, through the Pharmacy Act under Chapter 75, the newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination. Thus, the Board of Pharmacy came into being for the protection of public health, welfare and safety.

The present board consists of seven members—five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the governor for three-year terms and function under the statutory authority of Chapters 147, 155, 203, 203A, 204 and 205, Code of Iowa, 1981. The board has the responsibility for administering competency examinations and issues licenses to qualified applicants.

Through the executive secretary, the board maintains all records relating to continuing education and licensure by examination or reciprocity, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees, and issues all new and renewal licenses to those persons engaged in the practice of pharmacy.

The board has the authority to promulgate administrative rules and promotes and enforces minimum professional standards of practice.

The board is responsible for administering the regulatory provisions of the Code relating to the following:

- A. The legal aspects of professional practice and the licensing of drug manufacturers, distributors and community and institutional pharmacies.
- B. The adulteration and labeling requirements for drugs.
- C. The purity, quality and strength of drugs.
- D. The Controlled Substances Act and a state registration program for all legal handlers of controlled substances.
- E. The sale, distribution, labeling and records requirements of transactions for designated poisonous substances.

The board administers the pharmacy intern training program which prepares the pharmacy student for the contemporary practice of community or hospital pharmacy.