Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission

550 Liberty Bldg., 418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines 50319

I. JOHN ROSSI, West Des Moines, Chairman; term expires 1982. HUBERT W. RANDELS, Des Moines; term expires 1980. PATRICIA RHODES CEPICAN, Davenport; term expires 1984. CHARLES FROST STRUTT, Hearing Officer. G. LAWRENCE RAGAN, Executive Secretary.

The Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission was established by Act of the Iowa Legislature effective July 1, 1972. Chapter 88 of the Code designates the Commissioner of Labor to administer and enforce the Act and the Review Commission, a separate and independent agency, to adjudicate appeals., It is also the Review Commission's responsibility to hear cases under the Elevator Code (Chapter 104).

Board of Parole

Hoover Building, Des Moines, 50319

JOHN L. AYERS, Des Moines, Independent; term expires June 30, 1980. JACK H. BEDELL, Spirit Lake, Republican; term expires June 30, 1981. WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein, Republican; term expires June 30, 1982. SILAS S. EWING, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1983. DONALD L. OLSON, West Des Moines, executive Secretary.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly.

The Board of Parole shall consist of five electors of the state. Not more than three members shall belong to the same political party. At least two members shall be practicing attorneys-at-law at the time of appointment. Each member shall serve for five years from July first of the year of appointment, except appointees to fill vacancies who shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term. The chairperson of the Board shall be elected by the members of the board to a term of one year and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board shall constitute a quorium to transact business.

The Board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. On July 1, 1968, the supervision of parolees and probationers was delegated by statute to the Department of Social Services. However, the Board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the Bureau of Community Correction Services of the Department of Social Services, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

The Board also serves in an advisory capacity to the Governor, since under the law all applicants for restoration of citizenship rights, pardons, or commutations, in felony cases, must be referred to the Board by the Governor for study and recommendation before he may act upon them.

Board of Pharmacy Examiners

217 Jewett Bldg., Des Moines 50319

Appointed by the Governor

D.D. KILLION, RPh, Chairperson, Red Oak; term expires 1979.
R.E. BELLINGER, RPh, Fort Dodge; term expires 1981.
M.W. EGGLESTON, RPh, Waverly; term expires 1979.
W.E. EWING, Oskaloosa; term expires 1981.
V.M. FIEDLER, Spencer; term expires 1980.
S.C. LUTZ, RPh, Altoona; term expires 1981.
A.J. PALMER, RPh, Des Moines; term expires 1980.
N.C. JOHNSON, RPh, Des Moines, Executive Secretary.