Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission

Liberty Bldg., 418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines

JOHN ROSSI, West Des Moines, Chairman; term expires 1976.

ALLEN J. MEIER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1980.

R. DAVID FAHEY, Hearings Officer.

G. LAWRENCE RAGAN, Executive Secretary.

The Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission was established by Act of the Iowa Legislature effective July 1, 1972. Chapter 88 of the Code designates the Commissioner of Labor to administer and enforce the Act and the Review Commission, a separate and independent agency, to adjudicate appeals. It is also the Review Commission's responsibility to hear cases under the Elevator Code [Chapter 104].

Board of Parole

6th Floor, Lucas State Office Bldg., Des Moines

Appointed by Governor, Confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms.

SILAS S. EWING, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires 1977.

JANET A. JOHNSON, Des Moines, Independent; term expires 1979.

JACK H. BEDELL, Spirit Lake, Republican; term expires 1981.

DONALD L. OLSON, West Des Moines, Executive Secretary.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly.

The Board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. On July 1, 1968, the supervision of parolees and probationers was delegated by statute to the Department of Social Services. However, the board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee or probationer under the supervision of the Bureau of Community Correction Services of the Department of Social Services, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

The board also serves in an advisory capacity to the Governor, since under the law all applicants for restoration of citizenship rights, pardons, or commutations, in felony cases, must be referred to the board by the Governor for study and recommendation before he may act upon them. By statute, each member serves as chairman during the last two years of his appointment.

Board of Pharmacy Examiners

217 Jewett Bldg., Des Moines Appointed by the Governor

R. J. OSTERHAUS, RPh, Chairperson, Maquoketa; term expires 1978.

M. W. EGGLESTON, RPh. Waverly, term expires 1979.

D. D. KILLION, RPh, Red Oak; term expires 1979.

S. C. LUTZ, RPh, Altoona; term expires 1978.

A. J. PALMER, RPh. Des Moines; term expires 1980.

W. E. EWING, Oskaloosa; term expires 1978.

V. M. FIEDLER, Spencer; term expires 1978.

P. H. CREWS, RPh, Knoxville; Executive Secretary,

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy was originated April 23, 1880, at the direction of the state Executive Department. The commission then perfected an organization known as the State Board of Pharmacy, May 5, 1880. This Board was composed of three members. At this time, through the Pharmacy Act under Chapter 75, the newly formed Board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination. Thus, the Board of Pharmacy came into being for the protection of public health, welfare and safety.