Board of Examiners for Court Shorthand Reporters

(Office location: Call Clerk of Supreme Court)

HON. ALLAN A. HERRICK, Des Moines, Chairman. FLOYD L. PINDER, Des Moines. WESLEY V. HART, R.3, Corydon.

Terms three years, all ending July 1, 1974

Authorized by the Thirty-eighth General Assembly. The examiners are appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court to conduct examinations of those seeking to become certified shorthand reporters. Under the law two of the examiners must be official shorthand reporters and one a practicing attorney of the state.

Board of Nursing

(Office on fourth floor, 300 4th Street)

Appointed by the Governor. Term of five years.

SARA FISHEL, R.N., Cedar Rapids; term expires June 30, 1974. SISTER MARY SUZANNE WICKENKAMP, R.N., Ottumwa; term expires June

30, 1975. MILDRED I. FREEL, R.N., Iowa City; term expires June 30, 1976.

VIRGINIA LAWRENCE, R.N., Mason City; term expires June 30, 1977.

NELLIE E. OSTERLUND, R.N., Des Moines; term expires June 30, 1978.

LYNNE M. ILLES, R.N., Des Moines; Executive Director.

DARLENE J. GIER, R.N., Des Moines; Assistant Executive Director. SHIRLEY R. HORN, R.N., Assistant Executive Director.

The Iowa Board of Nursing was made a department separate from the Department of Health by action of the Forty-sixth General Assembly in 1935.

The Board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, to elevate the standards of schools of nursing and to promote the educational and professional standards of nurses and nursing in this state.

The Board conducts examinations and issues licenses to two classifications of

nurses, registered nurse and licensed practical nurse.

Since 1907, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of professional nursing was enacted, 49,354 registered nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1973 fiscal year, 22,694 registered nurses renewed their licenses.

Since 1949, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of practical nursing was enacted, 10,473 licensed practical nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1973 fiscal year, 6,665 licensed practical nurses renewed their licenses.

Through the Executive Director, the Board keeps all records pertaining to the licensure of nurses, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees and issues all licenses to practice nursing.

The Board is responsible for the initial and on-going approval of schools of nursing. At present there are 33 schools in Iowa preparing the registered nurse and 25 preparing the licensed practical nurse.

Board of Parole

(Office, 6th Floor, Lucas State Office Bldg.)

Appointed by Governor, Confirmed by the Senate.

Term of six years.

JACK H. BEDELL, Spirit Lake, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975. SILAS S. EWING, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1977.

L. D. CARSTENSEN, Clinton, Republican; term expires June 30, 1979. DONALD L. OLSON, West Des Moines, Parole Board Executive.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the Thirty-seventh General Assembly.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. On July 1, 1968, the supervision of parolees and probationers was delegated by statute to the Department of Social Services. However, the board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee or probationer under the supervision of the Bureau of Adult Correction Services of the Department of Social Services, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

The board also serves in an advisory capacity to the Governor, since under the law all applicants for restoration of citizenship rights, pardons, or commutations, in felony cases, must be referred to the board by the Governor for study and recommendation before he may act upon them. By statute, each member serves as chairman during the last two years of his appointment.

Board of Voting Machine Commissioners

MRS. SUSAN E. BUELL, Sioux City; term expires Feb. 3, 1974. HOWARD L. SNOOK, Newton; term expires Feb. 3, 1974. ROY E. VOEKLER, Oskaloosa; term expires Feb. 3, 1974.

The board passes on the capacity of voting machines to perform satisfactorily. Approval of this board is required before a new type of machine can be adopted.

Bureau of Labor

(Office is located on the Fourth Floor, Office and Laboratory Building)
East Seventh and Court

Commissioner appointed by the Governor

Term: two years-expires June 30, 1975

JERRY LEE ADDY, Commissioner.

The office of labor commissioner was created by the 20th General Assembly in 1884.

Under the provisions of law, the commissioner is a member of the private employment agency commission and chairman of the committee on child labor.

The bureau is responsible for the enforcement of laws relating to occupational safety and health, child labor, passenger and freight elevators, installation and inspection of fired and unfired pressure vessels, private employment agencies, arbitration and conciliation, and reporting of work injuries and illnesses, and the inspection and regulation of amusement rides.

The Iowa Bureau of Labor is also working with the area community colleges on a federal grant for education of the general public on safety standards.

Civil Rights Commission

(Office located at 1209 Executive Hills, Suite 405)

Term Four Years.

Appointed by the Governor.

GEORGE GARCIA, Iowa City, Democrat, term expires June 30, 1977. ELIZABETH (Mrs. David) KRUIDENIER, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1975.