Board of Nursing

(Office on fourth floor, 300 4th Street)

Appointed by the Governor. Term of five years.

VIRGINIA TURNER, R.N., Waterloo; term expires June 30, 1973.

SARA FISHEL, R.N., Cedar Rapids; term expires June 30, 1974.

SISTER MARY SUZANNE WICKENKAMP, R.N., Ottumwa; term expires June 30, 1975.

MILDRED I. FREEL, R.N., Iowa City; term expires June 30, 1976.

VIRGINIA LAWRENCE, R.N., Mason City; term expires June 30, 1972. LYNNE M. ILLES, R.N., Des Moines; Executive Director.

DARLENE J. GIER, R.N., Des Moines; Assistant Executive Director.

The Board of Nursing was made a department separate from the Department of Health by action of the Forty-sixth General Assembly in 1935.

The Board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, to elevate the standards of schools of nursing and to promote the educational and professional standards of nurses and nursing in this state.

The Board conducts examinations and issues licenses to two classifications of nurses, registered nurse and licensed practical nurse.

Since 1907, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of professional nursing was enacted, 45,641 registered nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1971 fiscal year, 23,911 registered nurses renewed their licenses.

Since 1949, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of practical nursing was enacted, 8,231 licensed practical nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1971 fiscal year, 5,612 licensed practical nurses renewed their licenses.

Through the Executive Director, the Board keeps all records pertaining to the licensure of nurses, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees and issues all licenses to practice nursing.

The Board is responsible for the initial and on-going approval of schools of nursing. At present there are 31 schools in Iowa preparing the registered nurse and 24 preparing the licensed practical nurse.

Board of Parole

(Office, 6th Floor, Lucas State Office Bldg.) Appointed by Governor, Confirmed by the Senate.

Term of six years.

GEORGE L. PAUL, Brooklyn, Republican; term expires June 30, 1973. JACK H. BEDELL, Spirit Lake, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975. SILAS S. EWING, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1977. RUSSELL W. BOBZIN, Des Moines, Parole Board Executive.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the Thirty-seventh General Assembly.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. On July 1, 1968, the supervision of parolees and probationers was delegated by statute to the Department of Social Services. However, the board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee or probationer under the supervision of the Bureau of Adult Correction Services of the Department of Social Services, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.

The board also serves in an advisory capacity to the Governor, since under the law all applicants for restoration of citizenship rights, pardons, or commutations, in felony cases, must be referred to the board by the Governor for study and recommendation before he may act upon them. By statute, each member serves as chairman during the last two years of his appointment.

Board of Voting Machine Commissioners

MRS. SUSAN E. BUELL, Muscatine; term expires Feb. 3, 1974. HOWARD L. SNOOK, Newton; term expires Feb. 3, 1974. ROY E. VOEKLER, Oskaloosa; term expires Feb. 3, 1974.

This board passes on the capacity of voting machines to perform satisfactorily. Approval of this board is required before a new type of machine can be adopted.

Bureau of Labor

(Office located on Fourth Floor Office and Laboratory Building)

Commissioner appointed by the Governor.

Term two years. Expires June 30, 1971.

JERRY LEE ADDY, Commissioner.

The office of labor commissioner was created by the Twentieth General Assembly in 1884.

Under the provisions of law, the commissioner is a member and executive secretary of the private employment agency commission. He also acts as secretary of the Iowa Employment Safety Commission, and is chairman of the Committee on Child Labor.

The bureau is responsible for the enforcement of laws relating to occupational health and safety, child labor, passenger and freight elevators, installation and inspection of steam boilers, generators and superheaters, private employment agencies, arbitration and conciliation, and investigation of occupational accidents.

Seven industrial technicians devote full time to inspection of factories, mills, work shops, theaters, buildings, public buildings, passenger and freight elevators, private employment agencies and general employment conditions. Four construction technicians devote full time to inspection of construction. One industrial hygiene technician devotes full time to industrial environmental health.

The Iowa Bureau of Labor has instituted labor safety programs, available to management and labor, in both the construction and industrial fields. Since the passage of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, the Bureau of Labor has begun developing a comprehensive program to gather statistical information concerning occupational health and safety.

The law requires that one of the inspectors shall be a woman who shall give special attention to places employing women and children. A migrant child labor inspector enforces the migrant child labor law.

The boiler inspectors for the state are responsible for the inspection