Agricultural Development Authority - Steven K. Ferguson, executive director, 505 Fifth Avenue, Suite 327, Des Moines 50309-2322; 515/281-6444

The Agricultural Development Authority was established to assist Iowans in pursuing and maintaining careers in farming. The authority administers the Iowa Beginning Farmer Loan Program and Loan Participation Program. Beginning farm loans are available to purchase land, machinery, livestock and buildings. IADA loans may also be used to improve existing buildings and farmland. The authority may issue bonds and notes and may participate in and cooperate with any federal or state agency to finance its programs.

The authority sponsors educational programs for beginning farmers and provides funding for the Iowa Agricultural Youth Institute, the Iowa FFA Foundation, Post Secondary Agriculture Students, and other agriculturally related organizations.

Board Members

EDWARD ENGSTROM, chair, Kanawha; SONJA LARSEN, vice chair, Ottumwa GENE GEISSINGER, treasurer, West Des Moines; STEVEN BASLER, Sharpsburg MARK LEONARD, Holstein; LESLIE MILLER, Knoxville; LOIS SCHNOOR, Maquoketa; DIANA STADTMUELLER, Monticello; TIM GALM, Everly

Ex-officio Members

PATTY JUDGE, secretary of agriculture; MICHAEL L. FITZGERALD, treasurer of state

lowa Grain Indemnity Board

The 71st General Assembly established the Iowa Grain Indemnity Board within the department. The seven-member board determines claims and adjusts the fees of the Iowa Grain Depositors and Sellers Indemnity Fund. This fund was established to protect producers, state-licensed grain dealers and warehouse operators. Currently, there is a per-bushel fee on all grain sold or stored in a state-licensed grain facility and an annual fee on all state-licensed grain dealers and warehouse operations.

Board Members

PATTY JUDGE, president, secretary of agriculture; MARTIN FRANCIS, commissioner of insurance's designee; STEVE MILLER, state treasurer's designee; ED HERSHBERGER, Kalona; CAROLYN ROBERTS, Peterson; BRUCE YUNGCLAS, Webster City; DONNA WINBURN, Grinnell

Laboratory - Daryl Frey, director, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-8589

The Laboratory Division assures that feed, fertilizer, pesticide and seed products meet the guarantees stated on the product label. The division works closely with federal agencies to enforce federal pesticide laws, protect the human food chain from the introduction of contaminants and prevent the introduction of plant pests. The division provides laboratory services to the department's Regulatory Division by analyzing food, dairy and meat products. Three administrative bureaus are organized under the Laboratory Division: Commercial Feed Bureau, Fertilizer Bureau and Pesticide Bureau. The division's laboratories include: the Drug and Vitamin Laboratory, Entomology and Seed Laboratory, Feed and Fertilizer Laboratory, Food and Dairy Laboratory, and the Pesticide Residue and Formulations Laboratory.

Regulatory - Ron Rowland, director, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319: 515/281-3325

The Regulatory Division provides fundamental consumer and producer protection to Iowans through a staff that includes field inspectors, veterinarians and grain warehouse examiners. These protections include food safety, sanitation, financial integrity of grain facilities and the inspection of commercial weighing and measuring devices.

The division supports economic development in Iowa by providing assurances of the quality and safety of Iowa agricultural products. The field staff is supported by technicians and program specialists in the following bureaus: Animal Health, Animal Welfare, Meat and Poultry, Grain Warehouse, Dairy Products Control and Weights and Measures. The division administers the state's Horse and Dog Breeding Program and provides staff for the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine and the Grain Indemnity Board.