AGRICULTURE AND LAND STEWARDSHIP, DEPARTMENT OF

Dale M. Cochran, secretary of agriculture, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319 515/281-5322

The 40th General Assembly consolidated several state divisions and created the Iowa Department of Agriculture in 1923. The 71st General Assembly in 1986 restructured the department by adding the Agricultural Development Authority, Grain Warehouse Bureau and Soil Conservation Division. The Legislature also changed the agency's name to Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship to reflect its broadened focus.

The mission of the department is to encourage a relationship between people and the land that recognizes the land as a resource to be managed to avoid irreparable harm; developing and implementing policies that address the long-term future of agriculture as an economic activity as well as a way of life.

The object of the department is to encourage, promote and advance the interests of agriculture, including livestock, grain, horticulture, dairy, wool, hay, poultry, value added products, as well as other agricultural businesses; to administer efficiently and impartially the regulatory, laboratory and inspection service of the state under its supervision for consumer protection; to preserve and improve the quality of Iowa's natural resources, its soil and water; to provide financial assistance for beginning farmers needing a variety of loans and guarantees; and to market our agricultural production.

The department is comprised of five divisions: Administrative, Agricultural Development Authority, Laboratory, Regulatory and Soil Conservation.

Administrative

Mary Jane Olney, director, Wallace State Office Building. Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5681

The Administrative Division provides internal support for the entire department through centralized accounting, licensing, mail, personnel, purchasing and supply sections. The division also contains the following bureaus: Agricultural Diversification, Agricultural Marketing, Agricultural Statistics, Auditing, Climatology, Dairy Trade Practices and Public Information, as well as the Office of Renewable Fuels and Co-Products. The Agricultural Marketing Bureau, Agricultural Diversification Bureau and the Office of Renewable Fuels and Co-Products actively seek innovative methods to expand existing markets and develop new markets for Iowa's quality agricultural commodities and value-added agricultural products.

Agricultural Development Authority

Steven K. Ferguson, executive director, 505 Fifth Avenue, Suite 327, Des Moines 50309-2322; 515/281-6444.

The Agricultural Development Authority was established to assist Iowans in pursuing and maintaining careers in farming. The authority administers the Iowa Beginning Farmer Program and Loan Participation Program to assist beginning farmers in purchasing land, improvements, depreciable property and breeding stock. The authority also may finance equipment as well as guarantee a percentage of operating loans, to qualified beginning farmers. The authority may issue bonds and notes and may participate in and cooperate with any federal or state agency to finance its programs.

The authority also provides funding for the Iowa Agricultural Youth Institute, the Iowa FFA Foundation, Post-Secondary Ag Students Organization, and the Iowa Young Farmers Education Association.

Board Members

EDWARD ENGSTROM, chair, Kanawha SONJA LARSEN, vice chair, Ottumwa GENE GEISSINGER, treasurer, Des Moines STEVEN BASLER, Sharpsburg MARK LEONARD, Holstein LESLIE MILLER, Knoxville LOIS SCHNOOR, Maquoketa DIANA STADTMUELLER, Monticello

Ex-officio non-voting members
DALE M. COCHRAN, secretary of agriculture
MICHAEL L. FITZGERALD, treasurer of state

Iowa Grain Indemnity Board

The 71st General Assembly established the Iowa Grain Indemnity Board within the department. The seven-member board determines claims and adjusts the fees of the Iowa Grain Depositors and Sellers Indemnity Fund. This fund was established to protect producers and state-licensed grain dealers and warehouse operators. There is a perbushel fee on all grain sold or stored in a state-licensed grain facility and an annual fee on all state-licensed grain dealers and warehouse operations.

Board Members

DALE M. COCHRAN, president, secretary of agriculture TIM BENTON, attorney general's designee MARTIN FRANCIS, commissioner of insurance's designee STEVE MILLER, state treasurer's designee MARIE ELLINGSON, Walker TERRY W. EVANS, Corning CAROLYN ROBERTS, Peterson BRUCE YUNGCLAS, Webster City

Laboratory

Daryl Frey, director, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-8589

The Laboratory Division assures that agricultural products are safe for use, perform properly, and cause no harmful side effects to the environment. The division includes these laboratories: Federal/State Animal Health; Meat and Poultry; Dairy; Feed and Fertilizer; Drug, Antibiotic and Vitamin; Seed and Entomology; Pesticide Residue and Pesticide Formulation. The division also includes the bureaus of Commercial Feed, Medicated Feed, Fertilizer and Pesticides which work in conjunction with the laboratories and field staff providing administrative support services.

The division administers a variety of functions established under the Groundwater Protection Act of 1987 including: 1) the training and testing of pesticide applicators; 2) the licensing of urban pesticide dealers; 3) the notification of adjacent property owners of pesticide applications in urban areas; 4) the establishment of a statewide data base on pesticide use; and 5) the implementation of an agricultural initiative in best management practices in the use of agricultural chemicals.

Regulatory

Ron Rowland, director, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3325

The Regulatory Division provides fundamental consumer and producer protection to Iowans through a staff that includes field inspectors, veterinarians and grain warehouse examiners. These protections include food safety, sanitation, financial integrity of grain facilities and the inspection of commercial weighing and measuring devices.

The division also supports economic development in Iowa by providing assurances of the quality and safety of Iowa agricultural products and allowing the marketing of those products. The field staff is supported by technicians and program specialists in the following bureaus: Animal Health, Animal Welfare, Meat and Poultry, Grain Warehouse, Dairy Products Control and Weights and Measures. The division also administers the state's Horse and Dog Breeding Program and provides staff for the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine and the Grain Indemnity Board.

Soil Conservation

James B. Gulliford, director, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-6146

The Division of Soil Conservation is responsible for state leadership in the areas of soil, water and mineral resource management. The division's mission includes setting the state's priorities, formulating and implementing programs, and establishing policies for protecting and preserving these natural resources in Iowa. The division provides assistance and support to Iowa's 100 soil and water conservation districts. It carries out programs for licensing mineral extraction, coal mining regulation and mined land reclamation.

The division provides financial incentive programs to assist farmers with the