# AGRICULTURE AND LAND STEWARDSHIP, DEPARTMENT OF

Dale M. Cochran, secretary of agriculture; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5322

The 40th General Assembly consolidated several state divisions and created the Iowa Department of Agriculture in 1923. The 71st General Assembly in 1986 further restructured the department when Agricultural Development Authority, the Grain Warehouse Bureau, and the Soil Conservation Division were added. The legislature also revised the department's mission statement to include encouraging a relationship between people and the land that recognizes the land as a resource to be managed to avoid irreparable harm; developing and implementing policies that address the long-term future of agriculture as an economic activity as well as a way of life. The object of the department is to encourage, promote and advance the interests of agriculture — including livestock, grain, horticulture, dairy, wool, hay, and poultry industry as well as other related agricultural businesses; to administer efficiently and impartially the regulatory, laboratory and inspection service of the state under its supervision for consumer protection; to preserve and improve the quality of Iowa's natural resources, its soil and water; to provide financial assistance for beginning farmers needing a variety of loans and guarantees; and to assist in marketing our agricultural production.

The department includes six divisions and a Grain Indemnity Board which administers the Iowa Grain Depositors and Sellers Indemnity Fund which provides protection to grain producers and state-licensed grain facilities. The fund is established by a per-bushel fee on all grain sold or stored in a state-licensed grain facility and an annual fee on all state-licensed grain dealers-warehouse operators.

## Administrative

David Werning, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5681

The Administrative Division provides support services including budget and accounting, data and word processing, public information, supply, audit, mail, and licensing. There are also these bureau functions: Agriculture Statistics, Climatology, Planning and Programming, Apiary, and Dairy Trade Practices.

### Agricultural Development Authority

William H. Greiner, executive director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-6444

The former Iowa Family Farm Development Authority was renamed and transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by the 71st General Assembly. Its purpose is to assist beginning farmers in purchasing farm land, improvements, and depreciable property; to finance permanent soil and water conservation practices and equipment; and to guarantee a percentage of operating loans to qualified beginning farmers. The authority may issue bonds and notes, and may participate in and cooperate with any federal or state agency to finance its programs.

The authority also provides funding for the Rural Consumer Program, the Iowa Agricultural Youth Institute Program, the Future Farmers of America (FFA) Building Our American Communities Program, and staffs the Iowa Foundation for

Agricultural Awareness.

**Board members** 

EDWARD ENGSTROM, chair, Kanawha SONJA LARSEN, vice-chair, Ottumwa GENE GEISSINGER, treasurer, Des Moines STEVEN A. BASLER, Sharpsburg MARK LEONARD, Holstein JO ANN MERFELD, Charles City LOIS SCHNOOR, Maquoketa DIANA STADTMUELLER, Monticello GORDON SWENSON, Rake

Ex-Officio non-voting members
DALE M. COCHRAN, secretary of agriculture
MICHAEL L. FITZGERALD, treasurer of state

## Farm Commodity

Steve Pedersen, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5993

The Farm Commodity Division works to promote and assist in the sales of Iowa agricultural products and commodities. The division includes four bureaus: Sheep, Commodities, International Trade, and Agricultural Diversification.

The Farm Commodity Division's goal is to assist Iowans in their marketing efforts both domestically and internationally. Our role is to promote and facilitate the

marketing of Iowa's agricultural products.

The division is composed of four bureaus: the Commodity Bureau for domestic marketing of grain and livestock; the International Trade Bureau for the assistance in the export of raw commodities and value-added agricultural products; the Sheep Bureau for assistance in Iowa's lamb and wool marketing; and the Agricultural Diversification Bureau for assistance to horticulture and diversified agricultural commodities and products.

## Iowa Grain Indemnity Board

The 71st General Assembly established the Iowa Grain Indemnity Board within the department. The seven-member board determines claims and adjusts the fees of the Iowa Grain Depositors and Sellers Indemnity Fund. This fund was established to protect producers and state-licensed grain dealers-warehouse operators. There is a per-bushel fee on all grain sold or stored in a state-licensed grain facility and an annual fee on all state-licensed grain dealers-warehouse operators.

#### **Board members**

DALE M. COCHRAN, secretary of agriculture, chair MARTIN FRANCIS, commissioner of insurance's designee STEVEN F. MILLER, state treasurer's designee MARIE G. ELLINGSON, Walker CHARLES MESSER, Danville CAROLYN ANN ROBERTS, Sutherland BRUCE YUNGCLAS, Webster City

#### Laboratory

Daryl Frey, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-8589

The Laboratory Division assures that agricultural products are safe for use, perform properly, and cause no harmful side effects to the environment. The division includes these laboratories: Federal/State Animal Health; Meat and Poultry; Dairy; Feed and Fertilizer; Drug, Antibiotic and Vitamin; Seed and Entomology; Pesticide Residue and Pesticide Formulation.

The division also includes the bureaus of Commercial Feed, Medicated Feed, and Fertilizer and Pesticides who work in conjunction with the laboratories and field

staff providing administrative support services.

The division assumed new responsibilities under the Groundwater Protection Act of 1987 including the following: 1) the training and testing of pesticide applicators; 2) the licensing of urban pesticide dealers; 3) the notification of adjacent property owners of pesticide application in urban areas; 4) the establishment of statewide data base on pesticide use; and 5) the implementation of an agricultural initiative in best management practices in the use of agricultural chemicals.

#### Regulatory

Ron Rowland, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3325

The Regulatory Division provides consumer and producer protection through a staff which includes field inspectors, veterinarians, and grain warehouse examiners. The field staff is supported by the technicians and program specialists of the following bureaus: Animal Health, Animal Welfare, Meat and Poultry, Grain Warehouse, Horse and Dog Breeding Program, Dairy Products Control, and Weights and Measures. The division also provides staff for the Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine and the Grain Indemnity Board.