AGRICULTURE AND LAND STEWARDSHIP, DEPARTMENT OF

Dale M. Cochran, secretary of agriculture; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5322

The 40th General Assembly consolidated several state divisions and created the Iowa Department of Agriculture in 1923. The 71st General Assembly in 1986 further restructured the department when Agricultural Development Authority, the Grain Warehouse Bureau, and the Soil Conservation Division were added. The legislature also revised the department's mission statement to include encouraging a relationship between people and the land that recognizes the land as a resource to be managed to avoid irreparable harm; developing and implementing policies that address the long-term future of agriculture as an economic activity as well as a way of life. The object of the department is to encourage, promote and advance the interests of agriculture - including livestock, grain, horticulture, dairy, wool, hay, and poultry industry as well as other related agricultural businesses; to administer efficiently and impartially the regulatory, laboratory and inspection service of the state under its supervision for consumer protection; to preserve and improve the quality of Iowa's natural resources, its soil and water; to provide financial assistance for beginning farmers needing a variety of loans and guarantees; and to assist in marketing our agricultural production.

The department includes six divisions and a Grain Indemnity Board which administers the Iowa Grain Depositors and Sellers Indemnity Fund which provides protection to grain producers and state-licensed grain facilities. The fund is established by a per-bushel fee on all grain sold or stored in a state-licensed grain facility and

an annual fee on all state-licensed grain dealers-warehouse operators.

Administrative

David Werning, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5681

The Administrative Division provides support services including budget and accounting, data and word processing, public information, supply, audit, mail, and licensing. There are also these bureau functions: Agriculture Statistics, Climatology, Planning and Programming, Apiary, and Dairy Trade Practices.

Agricultural Development Authority

William H. Greiner, executive director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-6444

The former Iowa Family Farm Development Authority was renamed and transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by the 71st General Assembly. Its purpose is to assist beginning farmers in purchasing farm land, improvements, and depreciable property; to finance permanent soil and water conservation practices and equipment; and to guarantee a percentage of operating loans to qualified beginning farmers. The authority may issue bonds and notes, and may participate in and cooperate with any federal or state agency to finance its programs.

The authority also provides funding for the Rural Consumer Program, the Iowa Agricultural Youth Institute Program, and staffs the Iowa Foundation for

Agricultural Awareness.

Board members
EDWARD ENGSTROM, chair, Kanawha
SONJA LARSEN, vice-chair, Ottumwa
GENE GEISSINGER, treasurer, Des Moines
STEVEN A. BASLER, Sharpsburg
MARK LEONARD, Holstein
JO ANN MERFELD, Charles City
LOIS SCHNOOR, Maquoketa
DIANA STADTMUELLER, Monticello
GORDON SWENSON, Rake