AGRICULTURE AND LAND STEWARDSHIP, DEPARTMENT OF

Dale M. Cochran, Secretary of Agriculture; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5322

The 40th General Assembly consolidated several state divisions and created the Iowa Department of Agriculture in 1923. Land stewardship functions were added by the 71st General Assembly in 1986, when the Agricultural Development Authority, the Grain Warehouse division, the Iowa State Fair Board, and the Soil Conservation division were added

The legislature has mandated the department's activities in 83 chapters of the Code of Iowa. Chapter 159 states in part, "The object of the department is to encourage, promote and advance the interest of agriculture — including horticulture, livestock industry, dairying, cheese making, poultry-raising, bee-keeping, production of wool, production of domesticated fur-bearing animals and other kindred and allied industries; to promote and devise methods of conducting said industries with a view to increased production and facilitate an adequate distribution at the least cost to the producer and consumer; and to administer efficiently and impartially the inspection service of the state under its supervision."

This is accomplished through trained inspectors in the field; scientists and technicians in the laboratories; and program specialists, technicians and clerical people in the offices. The department includes three operational divisions, the four new divisions, and two new boards.

Administrative

Greg Cusack, director; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5681

The administrative division provides support services including budget and accounting, data and word processing, information, supply, audit, mail and licensing. There are these sections: Farm Commodity, Grain Market News, Livestock Market News, Rural Consumer, Agriculture Statistics, Weather, Horticulture, Sheep, Apiary and Dairy Trade Practices.

Regulatory

Teresa Hay, director; Wallace Building Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3325

The regulatory division consists of field inspectors and their legal and supervisory support staff in these divisions: Animal Health, Animal Welfare, Meat and Poultry, Dairy Products Control, and Weights and Measures, which has a laboratory.

Laboratory

Darul Frey, director; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-8589

The laboratory division includes these laboratories: Federal/State Animal Health; Meat and Poultry; Dairy; Feed and Fertilizer; Drug, Antibiotic and Vitamin; Seed and Entomology; Pesticide Residue and Pesticide Formulation.

Agricultural Development Authority

William H. Greiner, executive director; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-6444

The former Iowa Family Farm Development Authority was renamed and transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by the 71st General Assembly. Its purpose is to assist beginning farmers in purchasing farm land, improvements and depreciable property; to finance permanent soil and water conservation practice and equipment; and to guarantee a percentage of operating loans to qualified beginning farmers. The Authority may issue bonds and notes, and may participate in and cooperate with any federal or state agency to finance its programs.

The Authority also administers the Iowa Agricultural Loan Assistance Program, which is designed to provide financing assistance for farm operating expenses and cash flow requirements Iowa farmers will incur during the 1986-87 production year.

Board members: George K. Schneidermann, Rock Rapids, chair; Edward Engstrom, Kanawha, vice chair; Gene Geissinger, Des Moines, treasurer; Steven A. Basler, Sharpsburg; Lois Schnoor, Maquoketa; Earl Powers, Defiance; Sonja Larsen, Ottumwa; Diana Stadtmueller, Monticello; Eric W. Dee, State Center.