Iowa State Board of Medical Examiners

910 Insurance Exchange Building, Des Moines 50309

CYRUS. BEYE, M.D., Sioux City; term expires 1979.
KENNETH R. CARRELL, D.O., Columbus Junction; term expires 1979.
ALEXANDER ERVANIAN, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1980.
FREDERICK V. HETZLER, D.O., Davenport; term expires 1981.
HAL R. HIRLEMAN, M.D., Cedar Rapids; term expires 1981.
JOSEPH A. McCAFFREY, Ph.D. (Pub. Rep.), Davenport; term expires 1979.
ROSALIE B. NELIGH, M.D., Council Bluffs; term expires 1980.
JOHN M. RHODES, M.D., Pocahontas; term expires 1980.
SHEILA SIDLES (Pub. Rep.), Centerville; term expires 1981.
RONALD V. SAF, Executive Director.

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the 21st General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was established in 1907. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the 60th General Assembly, effective May 9, 1963.

Board members are appointed by the Governor with confirmation by the Senate. The Board meets monthly and has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws and administrative rules regarding the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, osteopathy, physicians assistants, and advanced emergency medical technicians and paramedics.

The Board conducts two examinations each year for licensure to practice medicine and surgery for both medical and osteopathic doctors, determines the eligibility of physicians for licensure by endorsement or reciprocity, issues resident physicians licenses, as well as temporary and special licenses.

The Board also administers the physicians assistants progam under Chapter 148B of the Code and is responsible for the administration of Senate File 2076 for the certification of Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics.

The Board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensure discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, imposition of licensee discipline, and may petition the district court for enforcement of its authority. It registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report to the Board complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions constituting cause for licensee discipline, determines and administers annual license renewals and requirements for continuing medical education, certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions, and establishes procedures regarding disputes between licenses and patients which result in judgment or settlements of malpractice claims or actions.

During the fiscal year 1977-78, the Board processed 7,363 renewals of permanent licensure, issued 524 new licenses, issued 204 new resident licenses with 143 renewals, issued 37 new temporary licenses, renewed existing licenses, certified 47 new physicians assistants, and processed 247 certifications and over 3,000 verifications of current Iowa licensure.

Iowa Mental Health Authority

University of Iowa, Oakdale Campus, Oakdale 52319

HERBERT L. NELSON, M.D., Director. JOHN E. LANGHORNE, Ph.D., Acting Assistant Director.

The Iowa Mental Health Authority (IMHA) is a state agency affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Medicine and located at the University of Iowa Oakdale Campus near Iowa City. The legal operating mandates of the Authority are Chapters 225B (Iowa Mental Health Authority Act) and 230A (the Community Mental Health Centers Act) of the Iowa Code and Public Law 94-63 (the Special Health Revenue Sharing Act of 1975). Funding is provided jointly by the State of Iowa and the Federal Government.