KAREN SHIRER, PH.D., Ames; term expires 1998 PAUL STANFIELD, Des Moines; term expires 2000 JODI TOMLONOVIC, Des Moines; term expires 1999 DENNIS ZACHARY, Des Moines, term expires 1999 ANITA VARME, Des Moines; term expires 1998

Rural Health and Primary Care Advisory Committee JAMES MERCHANT, chair, Iowa City

JAMES MERCHANT, chair, lowa City
JOAN BLUNDALL, Spencer
JACKIE BUTLER, Webster City
DAVID W. CROW, Conrad
LAINE D. DVORAK, Humboldt
NANCY L. FABER, Northwood
MAUREEN R. HORSLEY, Emmetsburg
PATRICIA L KUHLEMEIER, Ventura
JOANNA M. LUND, DeWitt
MARLYS SCHERLIN, Creston
PAM NEENAN, Des Moines
NANCY NORMAN, Ames
NANCY RUZICKA, Des Moines
MARY WEAVER, Des Moines

Health Protection, Division of

John R. Kelly, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-7785

The Division of Health Protection is responsible for collecting data and determining the frequency with which infectious diseases occur within Iowa's population. Advice and assistance are provided to local communities pertaining to the incidence and control of all communicable diseases. Disease control programs are conducted for such diseases as sexually transmitted diseases, tuberculosis, vaccine preventable diseases, and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS). Active monitoring of diseases occurrence, case investigations, and medical consultation in diagnosis, treatment, and control are conducted daily.

Environmental health programs include asbestos and polychlorinated biphenyls compliance monitoring and toxic substance evaluations regarding toxic waste sites. Health engineering and consumer safety programs focus on compliance with the FDA childhood lead screening and milk standards, various environmental water quality problems, a swimming pool and spa registration and inspection program, and product safety recalls.

Radiological health programs include the registration and licensure of radiation emitting equipment and radiation operators. Radioactive materials are licensed and inspected, ensuring low level radiation exposure. Radon mitigation, testing and control programs are also administered.

The division is responsible for approving laboratories that desire to perform drug testing services for businesses located or doing business in Iowa and for issuing tattoo establishment and tattoo artist permits.

Medical Examiners, lowa State Board of

Ann M. Martino, PhD, executive director, 1209 East Court Ave., Des Moines, 50319; 515/281-5171

JAMES D. COLLINS, Jr., M.D., chair, Waterloo; term expires 2000 JAMES CATERINE, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1998 DALE R. HOLDIMAN, M.D., Sioux City; term expires 1998 MARY C. HODGES, Wapello; term expires 1998 SHIRLEY MEISENHEIMER, Sioux City; term expires 1999 TERESA A. MOCK, M.D., Mason City; term expires 1998 DONNA NORMAN, D.O., Davenport; term expires 2000 LAURA J. STENSRUD, Lake Mills; term expires 2000 ALEN J. ZAGOREN, Des Moines; term expires 1999

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the 21st General Assembly in 1886. The board of Osteopathic Examiners was established in 1907. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the 60th General Assembly in 1963. Board members are appointed by the governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate.

The board meets nine times annually and is responsible for administering and enforcing

state laws and administrative rules governing licensure and the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, osteopathy, and registered acupuncturists.

The board administers Step 3 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) to both allopathic (M.D.) and osteopathic (D.O) physicians twice annually. The board also determines the eligibility of physicians for licensure by endorsement of examination scores, and issues resident physician licenses, as well as temporary and

special licenses.

The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensure discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, and imposition of license discipline. The board may, if necessary, petition the District Court for enforcement of its authority. The board registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report on the evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals, certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions, and determines requirements for continuing medical education.

The board reviews and investigates professional liability claims filed against its licensees, including medical malpractice suits, to determine if the acts from which the claims were filed involved the violation of statutes, rules, or standards of practice.

The board is responsible for evaluating applications and issuing certificates of registration to qualified acupuncturists. Persons who hold a valid Iowa license to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry may engage in the practice of acupuncture without registration issued by the board.

Nursing, Board of

Lorinda Inman, R.N., Executive director; 1223 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3255

SANDRA K. BANE, R.N., chair, Oakland; term expires 1999 NANCY E. KNUTSTROM, R.N., Davenport; term expires 2000 RICHARD A. PETERSEN, R.N., Sioux City; term expires 1998 RODMON C. BELL, Burlington; term expires 1999 ANNA C. FALLON, Fort Dodge, term expires 1999 REGENE L. OSBORNE, R.N., Sioux City; term expires 1998 VACANT

The board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, licensure of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal. The board enforces the law and rules applicable to the practice of nursing including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action. The board issues licenses to registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and advanced registered nurse practitioners.

Pharmacy Examiners, Board of

Lloyd Jessen, executive secretary/director; 1209 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5944

PHYLLIS A. OLSON, pharmacist, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1999
A.D. "JACK" VAN NORMAN, pharmacist, vice chair, Swea City; term expires 2000
MELVIN L. GRUNDLEGER, Clive; term expires 1998
KATHERINE LINDER, pharmacist, Manson; term expires 2000
PHYLLIS A. MILLER, pharmacist, Leon; term expires 1998
MARY P. MITCHELL, Council Bluffs; term expires 1999
MATTHEW C. OSTERHAUS, pharmacist, Maquoketa; term expires 1999

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy originated on April 23, 1880, at the direction of the Executive Department. The commission then perfected an organization known as the State Board of Pharmacy on May 5, 1880. The board was composed of three members. At this time, through the Pharmacy Act under Chapter 75, the newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination. Thus, the Board of Pharmacy came into being for the protection of public health, welfare, and safety.

The present board consists of seven members - five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the governor for three-