Medical Examiners, Iowa State Board of

Dennis Carr, acting director; 1209 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5171

C.L. PETERSON, D.O., chair, Davenport; term expires 1993 JOHN OLDS, M.D., vice-chair, Des Moines; term expires 1993 LAURA J. STENSRUD, secretary, Lake Mills; term expires 1994 EDRA BROICH, Audubon; term expires 1993 JAMES CATERINE, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1995 JAMES D. COLLINS, JR., Waterloo; term expires 1994 CHARLOTTE CLEAVENGER, D.O., Ames; term expires 1994 MARY C. HODGES, Wapello; term expires 1995 GEORGE G. SPELLMAN, SR., M.D., Sioux City; term expires 1995 JOHANNA BONDE WHALEN, M.D., Davenport; term expires 1995

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the 21st General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was established in 1907. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the 60th General Assembly in 1963. Board members are appointed by the governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate.

The board meets nine times annually and has the responsibilities to administer and enforce the laws and administrative rules relating to the licensure and practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, osteopathy, and advanced

emergency medical technicians and paramedics.

The board conducts two licensure examinations each year. The examination administered is the Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX), and is given to both allopathic (M.D.) and osteopathic (D.O.) physicians. The board also determines the eligibility of physicians for licensure by endorsement or reciprocity from other states, and issues resident physician licenses, as well as temporary and special licenses.

The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensure discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, and imposition of licensee discipline. The board may, if necessary, petition the District Court for enforcement of its authority. The board registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report on evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals and determines requirements for continuing medical education. It also issues certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions.

The board also reviews and investigates professional liability claims filed against its licensees, including medical malpractice suits, to determine if the acts from which the claims were filed involved the violation of statutes, rules, or standards of practice.

Nursing, Board of

Lorinda Inman, R.N., executive director; 1223 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3255

EDNA D. EATON, R.N., chair, Sidney; term expires 1993 NANCY E. KNUTSTROM, R.N., secretary, Davenport; term expires 1994 KENNITH CULP, R.N., secretary, Iowa City; term expires 1994 EUGENE M. MEISTER, Burt; term expires 1993 CHERIE OETKER, L.P.N., Marshalltown; term expires 1993 REGENE L. OSBORNE, R.N., Sioux City; term expires 1995 GUY W. RICHARDSON, Jefferson; term expires 1995

The board has the responsibilities to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, licensure of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal. The board enforces the laws and rules applicable to the practice of nursing including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action. The board issues licenses to registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and advanced registered nurse practitioners.

Pharmacy Examiners, Board of

Lloyd Jessen, executive secretary/director; 1209 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5944

ALAN M. SHEPLEY, pharmacist, chair, Mt. Vernon; term expires 1993 DONNA J. FLOWER, Oelwein; term expires 1993 PHYLLIS A. MILLER, pharmacist, Leon; term expires 1995 PHYLLIS A. OLSON, pharmacist, Des Moines; term expires 1993