and ambulance personnel who work with the families.

The Birth Defects/Genetic Counseling Bureau offers in-depth counseling and followup for families with birth defects and genetic diseases. Educational programs are presented to the public and professionals as well. This bureau also administers the Newborn Screening Program and the Maternal Serum Alpha Fetoprotein Screening Program which detects neural tube defects and other high-risk pregnancies.

The Nutrition Bureau administers the Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), Community Nutrition, Health Promotion

Nutrition, and Maternal and Child Health Nutrition (MCH).

The WIC program provides food high in nutritional value and nutrition education to low income pregnant and nursing women, infants, and children who are nutritionally at risk. The Community and Health Promotion Nutrition Programs are responsible for developing nutrition services as they relate to education, disease prevention, and health promotion for all age groups.

The MCH nutrition program provides technical assistance, training, and evaluation

for Maternal and Child Health, Family Planning, and Adolescent Health clinics.

Maternal/Child Health Advisory Council

Members are appointed by the commissioner of public health. CHERI ARMENTROUT, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1989 BARBARA BEATTY, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1990 JULIANNE BECKETT, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1989 SEN, CHARLES BRUNER, Ames; term expires 1989 REP, DOROTHY F. CARPENTER, West Des Moines; term expires 1991 HOWARD FIELD, D.D.S., Iowa City; term expires 1989 RACHEL FULTON, Waterloo; term expires 1990 JOSY GITTLER, Iowa City; term expires 1990 DON GREYDANUS, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1991 DONAL HILL, D.O., Fairfield; term expires 1991 NORMA J. HIRSCH, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1990 FRED KELLY, Des Moines; term expires 1989 JANE KIELER, Des Moines; term expires 1989 NITA KNEEN, Ottumwa; term expires 1990 JOANNE LANE, Waterloo; term expires 1991 MARIETTA LANE, Des Moines; term expires 1991 JEAN LINDER, Des Moines; term expires 1989 KARLA LOWE-PHELPS, Waterloo; term expires 1990 CHARLOTTE NELSON, Des Moines; term expires 1991 VIRGINIA PETERSON, Des Moines; term expires 1991 COLLEEN SHAW, Corning; term expires 1989 TRISH SMALLENBERGER, Des Moines; term expires 1991 PAUL STANFIELD, Des Moines; term expires 1989 ELIZABETH THOMSON, Iowa City; term expires 1989

Medical Examiners, Iowa State Board of

William S. Vanderpool, executive director; 1209 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5171

JOHN R. ANDERSON, M.D., chair, Boone; term expires 1991 C.L. PETERSON, D.O., vice-chair, Davenport; term expires 1990 MARIAN C. BOUREK, Farley; term expires 1990 CHARLOTTE CLEAVENGER, D.O., Ames; term expires 1991 GEORGE G. SPELLMAN, SR., Sioux City, term expires 1992 JOHN OLDS, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1990 ANN O'NEILL, Armstrong; term expires 1991 DONNA M. DREES, M.D., West Des Moines, term expires 1992 ROBERT B. STICKLER, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1992

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the 21st General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was established in 1907. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the 60th General Assembly in 1963. Board members are appointed by the governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate.

The board meets nine times annually and has the responsibilities to administer and enforce the laws and administrative rules relating to the licensure and practice

of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, osteopathy, and advanced

emergency medical technicians and paramedics.

The board conducts two licensure examinations each year. The examination administered is the Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX), and is given to both allopathic (M.D.) and osteopathic (D.O.) physicians. The board also determines the eligibility of physicians for licensure by endorsement or reciprocity from other states, and issues resident physician licenses, as well as temporary and special licenses.

The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensure discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, and imposition of licensee discipline. The board may, if necessary, petition the District Court for enforcement of its authority. The board registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report on evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals and determines requirements for continuing medical education. It also issues certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions.

The board also reviews and investigates all professional liability claims filed against its licensees, including medical malpractice suits, to determine if the acts from which the claims were filed involved the violation of statutes, rules, or standards of practice.

Nursing, Board of

Lorinda Inman, R.N., executive director; 1223 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3255

EDNA D. EATON, R.N., chair, Sidney; term expires 1990 MARJORIE M. MATZEN, R.N., secretary, Council Bluffs; term expires 1992

KENNITH CULP, R.N., Iowa City; term expires 1991

CHERIE OETKER, L.P.N., Marshalltown; term expires 1990

ERLENE VEVERKA, Prairie City; term expires 1992

JOHN WATSON, Iowa City; term expires 1990

The board has the responsibilities to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, licensure of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal. The board enforces the laws and rules applicable to the practice of nursing including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action. The board issues licenses to registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and advanced registered nurse practitioners.

Pharmacy Examiners, Board of

Norman C. Johnson, executive secretary; 1209 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5944

ROLLIN C. BRIDGE, chair, Lamoni; term expires 1992

MELBA SCAGLIONE, vice-chair, Des Moines; term expires 1992

DONNA J. FLOWER, Oelwein; term expires 1990

MARIAN L. ROBERTS, pharmacist, Laurens; term expires 1991

JOHN F. RODE, pharmacist, Mt. Pleasant, term expires 1991

ALAN M. SHEPLEY, pharmacist, Mt. Vernon; term expires 1990

GALE W. STAPP, pharmacist, Oskaloosa; term expires 1990

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy originated on April 23, 1880, at the direction of the Executive Department. The commission then perfected an organization known as the State Board of Pharmacy on May 5, 1880. The board was composed of three members. At this time, through the Pharmacy Act under Chapter 75, the newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination. Thus, the Board of Pharmacy came into being for the protection of public health, welfare, and safety.

The present board consists of seven members—five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the governor for three-year terms and function under the statutory authority of Chapters 147, 155A, 203, 203A, 204, and 205, Code of Iowa, 1985. The board has the responsibility for administering competency examinations, and issues licenses to qualified applicants.

Through the executive secretary, the board maintains all records relating to continuing education and licensure by examination or reciprocity; processes all applications for licensure; collects fees; and issues all new and renewal licenses to those persons engaged in the practice of pharmacy.