STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Ch 136

Department of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-7689 Gerd Clabaugh, Director of Public Health, Secretary

Name	City	Term Ending
Michael Wolnerman, Chair	Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Ron Abrons	Coralville	June 30, 2016
Ted George	Rockwell City	June 30, 2018
Tonya Gray	Mason City	June 30, 2017
Jay Hansen	Mason City	June 30, 2018
Michael Kanellis	Iowa City	June 30, 2018
Vickie Lewis	Marshalltown	June 30, 2018
Norman Pawlewski	Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Michell Ricker	Ellston	June 30, 2017
Maggie Tinsman	Bettendorf	June 30, 2016
Karen Woltman	Swisher	June 30, 2017

The State Board of Health is the policymaking body for the Department of Public Health. It has the powers and duties to adopt administrative rules and regulations. It advises and makes recommendations to the Governor, General Assembly, and the Director of Public Health relative to public health, hygiene, and sanitation.

BOARD OF MEDICINE

§147.13, 147.14

400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite C, Des Moines 50309-4686; (515) 281-5171; www.medicalboard.iowa.gov Mark Bowden. Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending	
Diane Clark	Lake Mills	April 30, 2017	
Diane Cortese	Urbandale	April 30, 2016	
Mary Romanco	Pleasantville	April 30, 2018	
Physician members			
Hamed Tewfik, Chair	Iowa City	April 30, 2017	
Julie Carmody	Clive	April 30, 2016	
Ronald Cheney	Carroll	April 30, 2017	
Allison Schoenfelder	Akron	April 30, 2016	
Kyle Ulveling	Carroll	April 30, 2018	
		April 30, 2018	

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1921. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the General Assembly in 1963. In 1994, the General Assembly gave the board the authority to register acupuncturists, and subsequently the licensure and regulation of acupuncturists when the law was changed in 2001. In 2007, the General Assembly changed the board's name to the Board of Medicine. Board members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate. The board is composed of 10 members — five medical physicians, two osteopathic physicians, and three non-physician public members. In addition, the board can have up to 10 alternate members who can serve on administrative panels in contested case hearings. The board has six or seven regularly scheduled meetings annually at its office at 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Des Moines, and six or seven regularly scheduled teleconference meetings annually. The board is responsible for administering and enforcing state laws and administrative rules governing the licensure and practice

of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, and licensed acupuncturists. The board is funded exclusively with licensure fees. More information is available at the board's Internet site, www.medicalboard.jowa.gov.

The board issues licenses to medical physicians, osteopathic physicians, and acupuncturists who meet qualifications defined in Iowa law and administrative rules. The categories of medical licensure are resident, temporary, special, permanent, and administrative. The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensee discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints or liability claims, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, and imposition of license discipline. The board is authorized to operate the Iowa Physician Health Program, a voluntary program for monitoring recovery and rehabilitation of impaired physicians. More information on this program is available at http://iphp.iowa.gov/. The board may, if necessary, petition the district court for enforcement of its authority. The board registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report on the evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals and certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions and determines requirements for continuing medical education.

The board is responsible for evaluating applications and issuing licenses to qualified acupuncturists. Persons who hold a valid Iowa license to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry may engage in the practice of acupuncture without a license issued by the board.

At the start of 2015, the board was administering 11,538 active licenses for physicians and surgeons and osteopathic physicians and surgeons, and 52 active licenses for acupuncturists.

Iowa is a member of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, which establishes an expedited licensure process for qualified physicians who seek licensure in compact states.

BOARD OF NURSING

§147.13, 147.14, 152.2

400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite B, Des Moines 50309; (515) 281-3255;

www.nursing.iowa.gov Kathy Weinberg, Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending
Gwen Suntken, Chair	Mason City	April 30, 2017
Kathryn Dolter	Dubuque	April 30, 2018
Nancy Kramer	Independence	April 30, 2016
Debra Larson	Marion	April 30, 2017
James A. Seymour	Woodbine	April 30, 2016
LeRoy Strohman	Algona	April 30, 2017
Chad M. Ware	Walker	April 30, 2016

The Board of Nursing is a seven-member board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The board has the authority and responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the licensure of nurses, the practice of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education. The board issues licenses to registered nurses, practical licensed nurses, and advanced registered nurse practitioners. The board enforces the law and administrative rules applicable to the practice of nursing, including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action.