## IOWA OFFICIAL REGISTER

# HEALTH FACILITIES COUNCIL

§135.62

Department of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-4344

| Name             | City        | Term Ending    |
|------------------|-------------|----------------|
| Roberta Chambers | Corydon     | April 30, 2019 |
|                  | Spirit Lake |                |
| Connie Schmett   | Ĉlive       | April 30, 2019 |
| Robert Lundin II | LeClaire    | April 30, 2017 |
| William Thatcher | Fort Dodge  | April 30, 2015 |

#### BOARD OF MEDICINE

\$147.13, 147.14

400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite C, Des Moines 50309-4686; (515) 281-5171; www.medicalboard.iowa.gov Mark Bowden, Executive Director

| Name                  | City       | Term Ending    |  |  |
|-----------------------|------------|----------------|--|--|
| Frank Bognanno        | Des Moines | April 30, 2015 |  |  |
| Diane Clark           | Lake Mills | April 30, 2014 |  |  |
| Ann Gales             | Bode       | April 30, 2016 |  |  |
| Physician members     |            |                |  |  |
| Greg Hoversten, Chair | Iowa City  | April 30, 2014 |  |  |
| Robert Bender         | Clive      | April 30, 2016 |  |  |
| Julie Carmody         | Clive      | April 30, 2016 |  |  |
|                       | Carroll    |                |  |  |
| Allison Schoenfelder  | Akron      | April 30, 2016 |  |  |
| Hamed Tewfik          | Iowa City  | April 30, 2014 |  |  |
|                       | Pella      |                |  |  |

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1921. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the General Assembly in 1963. In 1994, the General Assembly gave the board the authority to register acupuncturists, and subsequently the licensure and regulation of acupuncturists when the law was changed in 2001. In 2007, the General Assembly changed the board's name to the Board of Medicine. Board members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate. The board is composed of 10 members — five medical physicians, two osteopathic physicians, and three non-physician public members. In addition, the board can have up to 10 alternate members who can serve on administrative panels in contested case hearings. The board has six or seven regularly scheduled meetings annually at its office at 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Des Moines, and six or seven regularly scheduled teleconference meetings annually. The board is responsible for administering and enforcing state laws and administrative rules governing the licensure and practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, and licensed acupuncturists. The board is funded exclusively with licensure fees. More information is available at the board's Internet site, www.medicalboard.iowa.gov.

The board issues licenses to medical physicians, osteopathic physicians, and acupuncturists who meet qualifications defined in Iowa law and administrative rules. The categories of medical licensure are resident, temporary, special, and permanent. The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensee discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints or liability claims, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, and imposition of license discipline. The board is authorized to operate the Iowa Physician Health Program, a voluntary program for monitoring recovery and rehabilitation of impaired physicians. More information on this program is available at http://iphp.iowa.gov/. The board may, if necessary, petition the district court for enforcement of its authority. The board registers and establishes peer review committees

to investigate and report on the evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals and certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions and determines requirements for continuing medical education.

The board is responsible for evaluating applications and issuing licenses to qualified acupuncturists. Persons who hold a valid Iowa license to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry may engage in the practice of acupuncture without a license issued by the board.

At the start of 2013, the board was administering 11,134 active licenses for physicians and surgeons and osteopathic physicians and surgeons, and 46 active licenses for acupuncturists.

## BOARD OF NURSING §147.13, 147.14, 152.2

400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite B, Des Moines 50309; (515) 281-3255; www.state.ia.us/nursing/ Kathleen R. Weinberg, Executive Director

The Board of Nursing is a seven-member board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The board has the authority and responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the licensure of nurses, the practice of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education. The board issues licenses to registered nurses and practical licensed nurses, and registers advanced registered nurse practitioners. The board enforces the law and administrative rules applicable to the practice of nursing, including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action.

# BOARD OF PHARMACY

§147.13, 147.14
400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite E, Des Moines 50309-4688; (515) 281-5944; www.state.ia.us/ibpe/
Lloyd Jessen, Executive Director

| Name            | City       | Term Ending    |
|-----------------|------------|----------------|
| Susan Frey      |            |                |
| LaDonna Gratias | Clive      |                |
| Edward Maier    | Mapleton   |                |
| Edward McKenna  | Storm Lake |                |
| Sharon Meyer    | Urbandale  |                |
| James Miller    | Dubuque    |                |
| Judith Trumpy   | Ames       | April 30, 2016 |

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy was organized in 1880 under the direction of the Executive Department and established the State Board of Pharmacy the same year. The board was composed of three members. The newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination for the protection of public health, welfare, and safety.

The present board consists of seven members — five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the Governor to three-year terms and function under the statutory authority of Iowa Code chapters 124, 124A, 124B, 126, 147, 155A, 205, and 272C.