HEALTH FACILITIES COUNCIL

§135.62

Department of Public Health, Office of Health Planning, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-4344

| Name | City | Term Ending Date |
|---------------------|--------------|------------------|
| Sidney Scott, Chair | Dubuque | April 30, 2009 |
| Susan Cell | Mount Vernon | April 30, 2013 |
| Mark Elcock | Des Moines | April 30, 2013 |
| Charles Follett | Clive | April 30, 2011 |
| Karen Hope | Fort Madison | April 30, 2011 |

DENTAL BOARD

\$147.12, 147.14(4); 2007 Iowa Acts, Senate File 74 and House File 909 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite D, Des Moines 50309; (515)281-5157

Constance L. Price, Executive Director

| Name | City | Term Ending Date |
|----------------------|-----------------|------------------|
| Deena Kucmpel, Chair | Cedar Rapids | April 30, 2010 |
| Elizabeth Brennan | West Des Moines | April 30, 2009 |
| Eileen Cacioppo | Davenport | April 30, 2009 |
| Lynn Curry | Carroll | April 30, 2010 |
| Alan Hathaway | Davenport | April 30, 2008 |
| Gary Roth | Fairfield | April 30, 2009 |
| Michael Rovner | | |
| Suzan Stewart | Sioux City | April 30, 2008 |
| Debra Yossi | | |

BOARD OF MEDICINE

§147.12, 147.14(2); 2007 Iowa Acts, Senate File 74 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite C, Des Moines 50309-4686; (515)281-5171

Ann E. Mowery, Executive Director

| Name | City | Term Ending Date |
|------------------|------------|------------------|
| Yasyn Lee, Chair | Dubuque | April 30, 2010 |
| Tom Drew | Des Moines | April 30, 2010 |
| Carole Frier | Des Moines | April 30, 2009 |
| Colleen Kennedy | Iowa City | April 30, 2010 |
| Sally Schroeder | Ankeny | April 30, 2008 |
| Dana Shaffer | Exira | April 30, 2008 |
| Siroos Shirazi | lowa City | April 30, 2009 |
| Janece Valentine | Fort Dodge | |
| Rodney Zeitler | lowa City | April 30, 2008 |

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was established in 1907. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the General Assembly in 1963. In 2007 the General Assembly changed the board's name to the Board of Medicine. Board members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate. The board has six regularly scheduled meetings annually and is responsible for administering and enforcing state laws and administrative rules governing the licensure and practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, and licensed acupuncturists.

The board licenses based on the results of two three-part national examinations: USMLE for medical doctors and osteopathic physicians and surgeons or COMLEX for osteopathic physicians and surgeons. The board also determines the eligibility of physicians for licensure by endorse-

ment of examination scores, and issues resident physician licenses, as well as temporary and special licenses.

The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensee discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints or liability claims, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings, and imposition of license discipline. The board is authorized to operate the lowa Physician Health Program, a voluntary program for monitoring recovery/ rehabilitation of impaired physicians. The board may, if necessary, petition the district court for enforcement of its authority. The board registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report on the evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals and certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions and determines requirements for continuing medical education.

The board is responsible for evaluating applications and issuing licenses to qualified acupuncturists. Persons who hold a valid lowa license to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry may engage in the practice of acupuncture without registration issued by the board.

BOARD OF NURSING

\$147.12, 147.14(3), 152.2 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite B, Des Moines 50309; (515)281-3255

Lorinda K. Inman, Executive Director

| Name | City | Term Ending Date |
|------------------------------|------------|------------------|
| M. Ann Aulwes-Allison, Chair | Ottumwa | April 30, 2009 |
| Clyde Bradley | Clinton | April 30, 2010 |
| John Connors | | |
| Jane Hasek | Reinbeck | April 30, 2010 |
| Mark Hilliard | Johnston | April 30, 2010 |
| Mary Jacobus | Fort Dodge | April 30, 2008 |
| Pauline Taylor | | |

The board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, licensure of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal. The board enforces the law and administrative rules applicable to the practice of nursing, including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action. The board issues licenses to registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and advanced registered nurse practitioners.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

§147.12, 147.14(5); 2007 Iowa Acts, Senate File 74 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite E, Des Moines 50309-4688; (515)281-5944

Lloyd K. Jessen, Executive Director

| Name | City | Term Ending Date |
|-----------------|----------------|------------------|
| Paul Abramowitz | Coralville | |
| Vernon Benjamin | Donnellson | |
| | Villisca | |
| | Mason City | |
| | Marion | |
| | Guthrie Center | |
| | Cedar Rapids | |

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy was organized in 1880 under the direction of the Executive Department and established the State Board of Pharmacy the same year. The board was composed of three members. The newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be