The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the 21st General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was established in 1907. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the 60th General Assembly, in 1963.

Board members are appointed by the governor with confirmation by the Senate.

The board meets monthly and has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws and administrative rules regarding the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, osteopathy, physicians' assistants and advanced emergency medical technicians and paramedics.

The board conducts two examinations each year for licensure to practice medicine and surgery for both medical and osteopathic doctors, determines the eligibility of physicians for licensure by endorsement or reciprocity and issues resident physician

licenses as well as temporary and special licenses.

The board also administers the physicians' assistant program under Chapter 148C of the Code and is responsible for the administration of Chapter 147A for the certification

of advanced emergency medical technicians and paramedics.

The board is empowered with the duty and responsibility of licensure discipline, which involves the investigation of complaints, review of evidence, initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings and imposition of licensee discipline, and may petition the District Court for enforcement of its authority. It registers and establishes peer review committees to investigate and report to the board complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions constituting cause for licensee discipline, determines and administers annual license renewals and requirements for continuing medical education, issues certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions and establishes procedures regarding disputes between licensees and patients which result in judgment or settlements of malpractice claims or actions.

Nursing, Board of

Ann E. Mowery, R.N., executive director; 1223 East Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3255

PAMELA A.TRIOLO, R.N., chairperson, Iowa City; term expires 1988

EDNA D. EATON, R.N., secretary, Sidney; term expires 1987 ELIZABETH H. KINNEY, L.P.N., Waterloo; term expires 1987 MARJORIE M. MATZEN, R.N., Council Bluffs; term expires 1989

KAREN R. SOJKA, R.N., Harlan; term expires 1988

ERLENE VEVERKA, Prairie City; term expires 1989

SANDRA YATES, Ottumwa; term expires 1987

The board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, nursing education, and continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal.

The board conducts examinations and issues licenses to registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and advanced registered nurse practitioners.

Pharmacy Examiners, Board of

Norman C. Johnson, executive secretary; 1209 East Court, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5944

ROLLIN C. BRIDGE, Lamoni; term expires 1989

JERRY M. HARTLEIP, pharmacist, Waterloo; term expires 1988

JOHN F. RODE, pharmacist, Mt. Pleasant, term expires 1988

MELBA SCAGLIONE, Des Moines; term expires 1989

ALAN M. SHEPLEY, pharmacist, Mt. Vernon; term expires 1987

G.W. STAPP, pharmacist, Oskaloosa; term expires 1987 M.L. UNDERWOOD, Clinton; term expires 1987

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy originated on April 23, 1880, at the direction of the Executive Department. The commission then perfected an organization known as the state Board of Pharmacy on May 5, 1880. The board was composed of three members. At this time, through the Pharmacy Act under Chapter 75, the newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination. Thus, the Board of Pharmacy came into being for the protection of public health, welfare and safety.

The present board consists of seven members—five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the governor for