ment System, to approve the classification plan and the pay plans and to submit them to the Iowa Executive Council for approval and to hear appeals of grievances and disciplinary actions.

It is also the duty of the commission to represent the public interest in the improvement of personnel administration in the State Merit Employment System; to advise the governor and the state agency heads on problems concerning personnel administration; to foster the interests of institutions of learning and of industrial, civic, professional and employee organizations through the improvement of personal standards in the State Merit Employment System; to make any investigation which it may consider desirable concerning the administration of personnel in the State Merit Employment System and to make recommendations to the director; and to make an annual report and special reports and recommendations to the governor.

The director of the Merit Employment Department, as executive head of the department, directs and oversees all administrative professional and technical programs of the department. She/he is charged with the responsibility of developing and putting into operation rules, policies and procedures which are based on merit employment principles and the law. These involve the classifying of positions; administration of the pay plans; recruitment of qualified candidates for public employment; preparation, validation, administration and scoring of pre-employment examinations; preparation, custody and updating of lists of eligible applicants; certification of lists of eligible applicants to agencies as vacancies occur; management of a complete personnel records system including appointments, salary advancements, promotions and terminations; auditing the payrolls and review of personnel and payroll transactions to insure compliance with statutes, bargaining agreements, rules and policies in all personnel actions; EEO/Affirmative Action technical assistance and reporting; intergovernmental personnel programs; performance planning and evaluation program; management training and staff developments; and personnel resource and information services.

The State Merit Employment System of Personnel Administration covers approximately 20,000 employees. Each original appointee must meet the minimum qualifications as defined in job class specifications, be scored on a pre-employment examination, be selected from among the top six scores on the eligible list and serve a six month probationary period before the appointment becomes permanent. Permanent employees may be discharged for just cause, and have the right of appeal to the commission.

Natural Resources Council

Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319

Effective July 1, 1983, the Iowa Natural Resources Council's staff and functions were incorporated into the Iowa Department of Water, Air and Waste Management. See the entry for this department.

Nursing, Board of

122 E. Court, Des Moines 50319

RUTH M. TURNIS, R.N., chair, Dubuque; term expires 1984
JO ANN ERICKSON, R.N., vice chair, Sioux City; term expires 1983
ELIZABETH H. KINNEY, L.P.N., Waterloo; term expires 1984
R. MARK ZIMMERMAN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1984
MARY (MOLLY) SCOTT, Spencer; term expires 1983
KAREN R. SOJKA, R.N., Harlan; term expires 1985
PAMELA A TRIOLO, C.N.M., Iowa City; term expires 1985
ANN E. MOWERY, R.N., executive director, Des Moines
WILDA D. WAGNER, R.N., associate director, nursing education, Des Moines
JEANNE WILSON, R.N., associate director, continuing education, Des Moines
RICHARD C. LAMB, associate director, regulation and enforcement, Des Moines
DOROTHY I. JACKSON, R.N., associate director, nursing practice, Des Moines

The Iowa Board of Nursing was made a department separate from the Department of Health by action of the 46th General Assembly in 1935.

The board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, to elevate the standards of schools of nursing, to promote the educational and professional standards of nurses and nursing in this state and to regulate mandatory continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal.

The board conducts examinations and issues licenses to both registered nurses and

licensed practical nurses.

Since 1907, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of professional nursing was enacted, 68,663 registered nurse certificates have been issued. On Jan. 1, 1983, 28,244 registered nurses held active licenses in the state of Iowa.

Since 1949, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of practical nursing was enacted, 22,815 licensed practical nurse certificates have been issued. On Jan. 1, 1983, 11,660 licensed practical nurses held active licenses in the state of Iowa.

Through the executive director, the board keeps all records pertaining to the licensure of nurses, processes all applications of licensure, collects fees and issues all licenses to practice nursing.

On Jan. 1, 1983, there were 42 schools in Iowa preparing the registered nurse and 30 perparing the licensed practical nurse.

Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission

Colony Building, Second floor, 507 10th St., Des Moines 50319

I. JOHN ROSSI, chair, West Des Moines; term expires 1988 HUBERT W. RANDELS, Des Moines; term expires 1986 ANDREA VAN BEEK, Orange City, term expires 1984 CHARLES FROST STRUTT, hearing officer MARY L. OLSON, executive secretary.

The Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission was established by act of the Iowa Legislature effective July 1, 1972. Chapter 88 of the Code designates the commissioner of labor to administer and enforce the act and the Review Commission, a separate and independent agency, to adjudicate appeals. It is also the Review Commission's responsibility to hear cases under the Elevator Code (Chapter 104).

Parole, Board of

Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, 50319

WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein; term expires April 30, 1987 L. VIRGINIA HARPER, Fort Madison; term expires April 30, 1984 JACQUELINE DAY, Des Moines; term expires April 30, 1986 RICHARD F. NAZETTE, Cedar Rapids; term expires April 30, 1986 RICHARD E. GEORGE, Des Moines; executive secretary LEROY H. PARK, Ankeny; term expires April 30, 1986 CHARLES W. LARSON, Newton; term expires April 30, 1986 WARDELL SMITH, Des Moines; term expires April 30, 1988

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole shall consist of five electors of the state. Not more than three members shall belong to the same political party. At least two members shall be practicing attorneys-at-law at the time of appointment. Each member shall serve for five years, from May 1 of the year of appointment (except appointees to fill vacancies who shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term). The chairperson of the board shall be elected by the members of the board to a term of one year and may serve more than one