to investigate and report on the evaluation of certain complaints or other evidence of acts or omissions possibly constituting cause for licensee discipline. The board issues license renewals and certifications for licensure in other jurisdictions and determines requirements for continuing medical education.

The board is responsible for evaluating applications and issuing licenses to qualified acupuncturists. Persons who hold a valid Iowa license to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry may engage in the practice of acupuncture without a license issued by the board.

At the start of 2013, the board was administering 11,134 active licenses for physicians and surgeons and osteopathic physicians and surgeons, and 46 active licenses for acupuncturists.

BOARD OF NURSING §147.13, 147.14, 152.2

400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite B, Des Moines 50309; (515) 281-3255; www.state.ia.us/nursing/ Kathleen R. Weinberg, Executive Director

The Board of Nursing is a seven-member board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The board has the authority and responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the licensure of nurses, the practice of nurses, nursing education, and continuing education. The board issues licenses to registered nurses and practical licensed nurses, and registers advanced registered nurse practitioners. The board enforces the law and administrative rules applicable to the practice of nursing, including the use of disciplinary proceedings and disciplinary action.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

§147.13, 147.14
400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite E, Des Moines 50309-4688; (515) 281-5944; www.state.ia.us/ibpe/
Lloyd Jessen, Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending
Susan Frey		
LaDonna Gratias	Clive	
Edward Maier	Mapleton	
Edward McKenna	Storm Lake	
Sharon Meyer	Urbandale	
James Miller	Dubuque	
Judith Trumpy	Ames	April 30, 2016

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy was organized in 1880 under the direction of the Executive Department and established the State Board of Pharmacy the same year. The board was composed of three members. The newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination for the protection of public health, welfare, and safety.

The present board consists of seven members — five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the Governor to three-year terms and function under the statutory authority of Iowa Code chapters 124, 124A, 124B, 126, 147, 155A, 205, and 272C.