The functions and duties of the Resources Council include the establishment and administration of comprehensive state-wide programs for flood control and for the conservation, development and use of the waters of the state. The council has been designated as the agency to maintain liaison with federal agencies conducting investigations and studies of projects for navigation and flood control affecting the state and to make official comments on project reports. The council also acts as the courdinating agency for flood control and water resources projects on the local and state level. The council approves or disapproves plans for any structure, dam, obstruction, deposit or excavation in or on any floodway and may abate as a public nuisance any of the foregoing which adversely affects flood control. The council may establish and enforce regulations for the orderly development and wise use of the flood plains of any river or stream within the state. The council has been designated as the state coordinating agency for the National Flood Insurance Program.

The permit system for regulated uses of water is administered by a water commissioner and deputies chosen by the council. The water rights law declares that all waters within the state, both surface and underground, belong to the people of the stale and are subject to regulated use for beneficial purposes. Except for a few uses defined in the law as non-regulated, any use of 5,000 gallons or more per day is subject to regulation. Permits may be granted for any period of time not to exceed 10-years and are reviewed prior to renewal or extension. Priority is given only to the use of water for ordinary household purposes, for poultry, livestock and domestic animals. The council establishes the average minimum flow for a given point on a water course and may issue permits for beneficial use of water therefrom if the average minimum flow is preserved.

The oil and gas conservation law (Chapter 84, acts of the 60th General Assembly), was enacted to conserve and protect the oil, gas and water resources of the state. Impetus for passage of the law was provided by the discovery of a deposit of commercially acceptable crude oil in Washington County in 1963 and the resultant increased drilling activity. Administration of the law was assigned to the Iowa Natural Resources Council through the office of the state geologist. The council has adopted administrative rules defining in detail its requirements under the law.

## **Board of Nursing**

## 1223 E. Court, Des Moines 50319

Appointed by the governor.

BARBARA A. STEEN, R.N., chairman, Jesup; term expires 1982.
RUTH M. TURNIS, R.N., secretary, Dubuque; term expires 1981.
JO ANN H. ERICKSON, R.N., Sioux City; term expires 1983.
DONNA R. HEALD, R.N., Mount Pleasant; term expires 1982.
ELIZABETH H. KINNEY, L.P.N., Waterloo; term expires 1981.
MARY "MOLLY" SCOTT, Spencer; term expires 1983.
R. MARK ZIMMERMAN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1981.
LYNNE M. ILLES, R.N., Des Moines; Executive Director.
HELEN LOBAS, R.N., West Des Moines; Associate Director.
JEANNE WILSON, R.N., Des Moines; Associate Director.

The Iowa Board of Nursing was made a department separate from the Department of Health by action of the 46th General Assembly in 1935.

The board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, to elevate the standards of schools of nursing, to promote the educational and professional standards of nurses and nursing in this state and to regulate mandatory continuing education as a prerequisite to license renewal.

The board conducts examinations and issues licenses to both registered nurses and licensed practical nurses.

Since 1907, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of professional nursing was enacted 62,766 registered nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1980 fiscal year, 25,739 registered nurses renewed their licenses.

Since 1949, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of practical nursing was enacted, 18,970 licensed practical nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1980 fiscal year, 10,401 licensed practical nurses renewed their licenses.

Through the executive director, the board keeps all records pertaining to the licensure of nurses, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees, and issues all licenses to practice nursing.

The board is responsible for the initial and on-going approval of schools of nursing. At the present time, there are 40 schools in Iowa preparing the registered nurse and 27 preparing the licensed practical nurse.

## **Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission**

Colony Building, Second floor, 507 10th St., Des Moines 50319

I. JOHN ROSSI, chairman, West Des Moines; term expires 1982.

HUBERT W. RANDELS, Des Moines; term expires 1986.

PATRICIA RHODES CEPICAN, Davenport; term expires 1984.

CHARLES FROST STRUTT, hearing officer.

MARY L. OLSON, executive secretary.

The Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission was established by act of the Iowa Legislature effective July 1, 1972. Chapter 88 of the Code designates the commissioner of labor to administer and enforce the act and the Review Commission, a separate and independent agency, to adjudicate appeals. It is also the Review Commission's responsibility to hear cases under the Elevator Code (Chapter 104).

## **Board of Parole**

Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, 50319

WALTER L. SAUR, Oelwein, Republican; term expires April 30, 1982. WILLIAM C. CRIBBS, Waterloo; term expires April 30, 1983. L. VIRGINIA HARPER, Fort Madison, Democrat; term expires April 30, 1984. JACQUELINE DAY, Des Moines, Republican; term expires April 30, 1985. RICHARD F. NAZETTE, Cedar Rapids, Republican; term expires April 30, 1985. DONALD L. OLSON, West Des Moines, executive secretary.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the 37th General Assembly. The Board of Parole shall consist of five electors of the state. Not more than three members shall belong to the same political party. At least two members shall be practicing attorneys-at-law at the time of appointment. Each member shall serve for five years, from May 1 of the year of appointment (except appointees to fill vacancies who shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term). The chairperson of the board shall be elected by the members of the board to a term of one year and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board shall constitute a quorum to transact business.