Board of Nursing

(Office on fourth floor, 300 4th Street)

Appointed by the Governor. Term of five years.

VIRGINIA TURNER, R.N., Waterloo; term expires June 30, 1973.

SARA FISHEL, R.N., Cedar Rapids; term expires June 30, 1974.

SISTER MARY SUZANNE WICKENKAMP, R.N., Ottumwa; term expires June 30, 1975.

MILDRED I. FREEL, R.N., Iowa City; term expires June 30, 1976.

VIRGINIA LAWRENCE, R.N., Mason City; term expires June 30, 1972.

LYNNE M. ILLES, R.N., Des Moines; Executive Director.

DARLENE J. GIER, R.N., Des Moines; Assistant Executive Director.

The Board of Nursing was made a department separate from the Department of Health by action of the Forty-sixth General Assembly in 1935.

The Board has the responsibility to administer and enforce the laws relating to the practice of nursing, to elevate the standards of schools of nursing and to promote the educational and professional standards of nurses and nursing in this state.

The Board conducts examinations and issues licenses to two classifications of nurses, registered nurse and licensed practical nurse.

Since 1907, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of professional nursing was enacted, 45,641 registered nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1971 fiscal year, 23,911 registered nurses renewed their licenses.

Since 1949, when the first regulatory act affecting the practice of practical nursing was enacted, 8,231 licensed practical nurse certificates have been issued. At the close of the 1971 fiscal year, 5,612 licensed practical nurses renewed their licenses.

Through the Executive Director, the Board keeps all records pertaining to the licensure of nurses, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees and issues all licenses to practice nursing.

The Board is responsible for the initial and on-going approval of schools of nursing. At present there are 31 schools in Iowa preparing the registered nurse and 24 preparing the licensed practical nurse.

Board of Parole

(Office, 6th Floor, Lucas State Office Bldg.)

Appointed by Governor, Confirmed by the Senate.

Term of six years.

GEORGE L. PAUL, Brooklyn, Republican; term expires June 30, 1973. JACK H. BEDELL, Spirit Lake, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975. SILAS S. EWING, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1977. RUSSELL W. BOBZIN, Des Moines, Parole Board Executive.

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the Thirty-seventh General Assembly.

The board is charged with the duty of investigating and studying the cases of prisoners confined in the penitentiary and the men's and women's reformatories and is authorized to release on parole any prisoner, except those serving life terms, after serving the portion of the maximum term it deems proper. On July 1, 1968, the supervision of parolees and probationers was delegated by statute to the Department of Social