PUBLIC FUNDS INTEREST RATES COMMITTEE

§12C.6

Office of the Treasurer of State, State Capitol, Des Moines 50319: (515)281-5368

Name Type	of Appointment
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State	Statutory
James E. Forney, Superintendent of Credit Unions	Statutory
Thomas B. Gronstal, Superintendent of Banking	
David A. Vaudt, Auditor of State	Statutory

IOWA COMPREHENSIVE PETROLEUM UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK FUND BOARD

§455G.4

2700 Westown Parkway, Suite 320, West Des Moines 50266; (515)225-9263

Scott Scheidel, Administrator

		Term Ending Date/
Name	City	Type of Appointment
Douglas Beech	Ankeny	April 30, 2009
James M. Holcomb	Johnston	April 30, 2009
Jacqueline Johnson	Edgewood	April 30, 2011
Nancy Lincoln	Glenwood	April 30, 2011
Susan Voss, Commissioner of Ir	nsurance, Chair	Statutory
Liz Christiansen, designee of Di	rector, Department of Natural Resources	Statutory
Stephen Larson, designee of Tre	asurer of State	Statutory
	Nonvoting member:	-
		G

Jeff W. Robinson, designce of Legislative Services AgencyStatutory

The Iowa Comprehensive Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Fund Board was created in 1989 with several goals. These goals were to create adequate and reliable financial assurance for the costs of cleanup on preexisting (prior to October 26, 1990) releases of petroleum from underground storage tanks, create a financial responsibility assurance mechanism (insurance) to pay for future releases, minimize societal costs and environmental damage, maintain lowa's rural petroleum distribution network, and finally to serve as an interim measure. The payment for releases preexisting on October 26, 1990, is the remaining goal to be met.

The board's statutes provide for the reimbursement of eligible claimants for remedial claims, i.e., those claims reported prior to October 26, 1990; and retroactive claims, the few claims that were being addressed prior to the creation of the UST Fund and innocent landowner claims, i.e., those preexisting releases that had occurred prior to the October 26, 1990, deadline but were not reported until much later.

The board administers various funds from which to make reimbursement for the work required by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to address risks to health created by the eligible releases. Payments are made as work progresses and cease upon DNR's classification as "No Action Required." The board meets monthly to approve claim payments and handle other administrative matters affecting the program.

Owners of petroleum-contaminated property or former underground storage tank owners may contact the board to pursue any potential benefits available to them. Additionally, board statutes grant benefits to governmental subdivisions that acquire former UST sites pursuant to eminent domain. Counties are also eligible for benefits for properties they acquire through delinquent taxes.

The board works closely with DNR to coordinate assessment and corrective action at eligible claimant sites. DNR provides the final word for what must occur to reach "No Action Required"

status, and the board has the decision of what activities will be reimbursable as benefits. The board preapproves all costs prior to the commencement of the activities at an eligible site.

COMMISSION ON UNIFORM STATE LAWS

§5.1

Drake University, College of Law, 2507 University Avenue, Des Moines 50311; (515)271-3985

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Sheldon Kurtz	lowa City	June 30, 2008
Linda Neuman	Le Claire	June 30, 2008
David S. Walker	Des Moines	June 30, 2008

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

Ch 35A

Camp Dodge, Building A6A, Johnston 50131; (515)242-5331; www.jowaya.org

Patrick Palmersheim, Executive Director.....Serves at Pleasure of Governor

The Governor appoints an executive director, subject to confirmation by the Senate, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The executive director is responsible for administering the duties of the department; establishing administrative rules for department programs; maintaining military service records and graves records; assisting county veteran affairs commissions; providing information to government agencies, funeral homes, and veteran service organizations; and administering the War Orphans Educational Fund, County Grant Program, Vietnam Bonus, Severely Injured Veteran Grant Program, and Veterans Trust Fund. The executive director must be a resident of the state and an honorably discharged veteran who served in the armed forces of the United States during a conflict or war.

COMMISSION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

§35A.2 as amended by 2007 Iowa Acts, House File 817 Camp Dodge, Building A6A, Johnston 50131; (515)242-5331

		Term Ending Date/		
Name	City	Type of Appointment		
Steven Mulcahy, Chair	Ottumwa			
Donald Delamore	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2011		
Darlene McMartin	Hancock	April 30, 2008		
Laurel Phipps	Marshalltown	April 30, 2010		
David Rehbein	Ames	April 30, 2010		
Cecelia Schroeder	Des Moines	April 30, 2008		
Rosetta Waychus	Mason City	April 30, 2010		
Ex officio, nonvoting members:				
Patrick Palmersheim, Executive Director, Department of Veterans AffairsStatutory				
Daniel R. Steen, Iowa Veterans	s Home Commandant	Statutory		

The General Assembly, in 1992, created the Commission of Veterans Affairs. In 2004, the commission's statute was amended to increase the number of commissioners. The Governor appoints nine commissioners; eight must be honorably discharged members of the armed forces of the United States, and one must be from the public at-large. All must be confirmed by the Senate. In 2005, the General Assembly created the Iowa Department of Veterans Affairs.

Under the auspices of Iowa Code chapter 35A, the commission advises the executive director and other employees necessary to carry out the duties of the commission and the department. The