Benefits – Kevin Beichley, Administrator; Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 242-6143

The Benefits Bureau provides for management of the deferred compensation, group insurance, wellness, employee assistance, unemployment ASO contract, workers' compensation, and leave management programs.

CAPITOL PLANNING COMMISSION

§8A.371

Department of Administrative Services, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-3196

Name	City	Term Ending/Type	
William Dikis, Chair	Clive		
Matthew Anderson	Des Moines	April 30, 2017	
Carol Grant	West Des Moines	April 30, 2017	
Elizabeth Isaacson	West Des Moines	April 30, 2017	
Robert Weiser	Urbandale	April 30, 2019	
Janet Phipps, Director, Departm	ent of Administrative Services	Statutory	
Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly			
Senate			
Matt McCoy	Des Moines	January 8, 2017	
Charles Schneider	West Des Moines	January 8, 2017	
House			
Daniel Kelley	Newton	January 8, 2017	
	Ankeny		

The Capitol Planning Commission was established by the General Assembly in 1959, and is composed of legislators, citizens of Iowa appointed by the Governor, and the Director of the Department of Administrative Services or the director's designee. The commission's purpose is to advise on the location of statues, fountains, and monuments, and the placing of any additional buildings on the State Capitol grounds, as well as other aspects of the development of the State Capitol grounds.

TERRACE HILL COMMISSION

§8A.326

2300 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515) 242-5841 Diane Becker, Administrator

Name	City	Term Ending
Kaye Lozier, Chair	.Des Moines	June 30, 2018
Christine Branstad	.Des Moines	June 30, 2017
William Dikis	.Clive	June 30, 2017
Elaine Estes	.Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Deborah Hubbell	.Des Moines	June 30, 2018
Jerry Mathiasen	.Council Bluffs	June 30, 2017
Nicole Peckumn	.Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Robert Reinard	.West Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Eric Wieland	.West Des Moines	June 30, 2018

The Terrace Hill Commission (formerly the Terrace Hill Authority) was statutorily created in 1982. The commission consists of eight persons appointed by the Governor who are knowledgeable in business management and historic preservation and renovation, and the First Lady. The terms of the commission members are for three years beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30.

Terrace Hill was given to the state of Iowa by the Hubbell family in 1971. The Terrace Hill Commission was established to administer the property. The commission, acting through the Terrace

Hill administrator, manages the entire facility, including buildings and grounds; continues the ongoing preservation and renovation of this historic site; maintains Terrace Hill as the Iowa Governor's official residence and as a place for official state functions; and public tours.

DEPARTMENT ON AGING

Ch 231

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 2, Des Moines 50319; (515) 725-3333; www.iowaaging.gov/

The Older Americans Act of 1965, reauthorized in 2006, established the State Unit on Aging and the Area Agencies on Aging. The current Iowa Department on Aging (IDA) was first created as the Commission on the Aging by the Iowa General Assembly in 1966. In 1986, the existing Commission on Aging was reorganized as a separate executive branch agency, and was renamed the Iowa Department of Elder Affairs. In 2008, the department was again renamed as the Iowa Department on Aging (IDA). The State Unit on Aging is established in Iowa under the "Elder Iowans Act" (Iowa Code chapter 231), which sets forth the role and responsibilities for the department and its commission as well as the Area Agencies on Aging. In 2004, the department was awarded an Administration on Aging discretionary grant to establish Iowa's Aging and Disability Resource Centers (ADRC); in 2006, the ADRC was codified in Iowa Code chapter 231 and in 2011, the state submitted a five-year plan to the U.S. Administration on Aging and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid to implement a fully functioning ADRC statewide by 2016. The department advocates for older Iowans and adult persons with disabilities and is responsible, in collaboration with Area Agencies on Aging across the state and ADRCs, for developing a comprehensive, coordinated, and cost-effective system of long-term living and community support services that helps Iowans maintain health and independence in their homes and communities. The department's programs and services include but are not limited to: elder rights and legal assistance; elder abuse prevention and awareness; nutrition and health promotion; family caregiver advocacy; older worker services; case management; options counseling; and a wide array of information and assistance. Within the IDA is the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman, which advocates for the rights of residents living in various health care settings. The IDA Internet site is: https://www.iowaaging.gov/. The Internet site for Iowa's ADRC is: www.lifelonglinks.org. An 11-member commission serves as the policymaking body for the department with seven members appointed by the Governor, two by the House of Representatives, and two by the Senate for four-year terms. Among their duties, the commission promulgates administrative rules and approves and monitors the area plans for the area agencies. The Governor appoints a department director subject to confirmation by the Senate.

POLICY AND PLANNING DIVISION

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 2, Des Moines 50319; (515) 725-3333 Kimberly Murphy, Policy Director

PROGRAMS AND ADMINISTRATION DIVISION

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 2, Des Moines 50319; (515) 725-3333 Joel Wulf, Assistant Director

STATE LONG-TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN §231.42

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 2, Des Moines 50319; (515) 725-3333 Deanna Clingan-Fischer