the office of the attorney general, other agencies of government, the legal profession and the general public. The Law Library serves as an access point to material

pertaining to Iowa legislative activities.

The library is housed in one of the most beautiful rooms in state government, with four of its five floors enclosed by ornamental balconies, its original gaslights wired for electricity, and circular wrought-iron staircases rising four stories at each end of the room.

State Medical Library

Sharon Seide and Patricia Downey, medical librarians; First Floor, Historical Bldg., Des Moines 50319: 515-281-7507

The State Medical Library of Iowa was established as a department of the State Library in July, 1919, and became a separate library in the reorganization of state libraries by the 48th General Assembly in 1931. The Medical Library became a division of the State Library Commission in 1973.

This library contains over 30,000 volumes and subscribes to more than 500 medical and scientific journals annually. In addition to its collection of current materials,

there is an extensive section on medical history.

The primary function of the State Medical Library of Iowa is to provide reference, research and interlibrary loan services to government agencies, physicians and other medical personnel, attorneys, students, libraries and the general public.

Computerized searching services are available to all, as well as consultation services for library managers. A state-wide WATS System makes medical information

available quickly and easily.

The library serves as one of 13 resource libraries in a six-state area comprising the Midwest Health Science Library Network. The goal of MHSLN is to help bring to health personnel the information they need for patient care, health research and education.

Terrace Hill Commission

Cynthia Henderson, administrator; Terrace Hill, 2300 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; 515-282-2804

JOHN R. FITZGIBBON, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1987

MAURICE BARINGER, Woodburn; term expires 1987

ROBERT T. BATES, Albia; term expires 1988

CHRISTINE BRANSTAD, Des Moines; term expires 1989

NANCY FRANZENBURG, Des Moines; term expires 1989

MARGARET N. KEYES, Iowa City; term expires 1987

MADELYN PRIEBE, Algona; term expires 1989

BILLIE L. RAY, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1988 ANN T. RICHARDS, Des Moines; term expires 1988

The 69th General Assembly created the Terrace Hill Authority (now the Terrace Hill Commission) in 1982. The Commission consists of a governor's designee and eight persons appointed by the governor who are knowledgeable in business management, historic preservation and renovation. The terms of the appointed members are three years beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30.

The Terrace Hill Commission is established to implement the intent of the original gift of Terrace Hill and the federal and state laws regarding historic preservation and public buildings. Terrace Hill was given to the state of Iowa by the Hubbell

family in 1981.

The Terrace Hill Commission maintains the entire Terrace Hill facility, including buildings and grounds, and continues the ongoing preservation and renovation of this historic site. They maintain Terrace Hill as a residence for the governor of Iowa and family and as a place for official state functions and entertaining. They oversee the conducting of public tours.

The Terrace Hill Commission may enter into contracts, subject to chapter 18, to execute its purposes. The Commission may consult with the Terrace Hill Society, Terrace Hill Foundation, the executive and legislative branches of this state and other persons interested in the property. Notwithstanding section 303.1B, the Commission may adopt rules to administer and implement their programs. The decision of the Terrace Hill Commission is final agency action under chapter 17A.