REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

§543B.8

Professional Licensing and Regulation Bureau, 1920 Southeast Hulsizer Road, Ankeny 50021; (515)281-7397

David Batts, Executive Officer

Name	City	Term Ending
Laurie Dawley, Chair	Walford	April 30, 2012
Daniel Berry	Iowa City	April 30, 2011
Patricia Daniels	Des Moines	April 30, 2011
Laurel Diehl	Mason City	April 30, 2011
James O'Neill	Council Bluffs	April 30, 2011
Richard Robert	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2012
Judith Stevens	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2010

The first real estate license law was enacted by the General Assembly in 1929 and became effective on January 1, 1930.

The Real Estate Commission administers the Iowa Real Estate License Law, Iowa Code chapter 543B, and Sales of Subdivided Land Outside of Iowa, Iowa Code chapter 543C. The commission also administers appropriate portions of the Continuing Education and Regulation Program, Iowa Code chapter 272C. The license law authorizes the commission to issue licenses and regulate the activities of real estate brokers and salespersons, and to carry out a program of real estate education. The subdivided land law authorizes the commission to register out-of-state subdividers who engage in business in Iowa, and to refer violations to the Attorney General or to an appropriate court. Iowa Code chapter 272C requires licensees to participate in continuing education, and authorizes the commission to adopt administrative rules. The law also establishes procedures for review of the licenses and lists grounds for disciplinary sanctions.

UTILITIES DIVISION

Ch 474; §546.2, 546.7 350 Maple Street, Des Moines 50319-0069; (515)281-5979

UTILITIES BOARD

§474.1, 474.10

Utilities Division, 350 Maple Street, Des Moines 50319-0069; (515)281-5979

Joan Conrad, Executive Secretary David Lynch, General Counsel

Name	City	Term Ending
Robert Berntsen, Chair	Des Moines	April 30, 2015
Darrell Hanson	Altoona	April 30, 2013
Krista Tanner	Clive	April 30, 2011

The Utilities Board is responsible for the regulation of the rates and services of investor-owned electric, gas, natural gas, communications, and water utilities and generally supervises all pipelines and transmission, sale, and distribution of electrical current in the state.

The three-member board is a policymaking body for the Utilities Division. The chairperson serves as the administrator of the Utilities Division. As administrator, the chairperson is responsible for all administrative functions and decisions. Eight sections have been established in the Utilities Division organizational structure: the office of executive secretary, deputy executive secretary, general counsel, customer service, energy, policy development, safety and engineering, and telecommunications.