The Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board was created by the 38th General Assembly in 1919. No person can practice professional engineering or land surveying without first being registered with this board. The board meets from time to time and conducts examinations of applicants for registration.

The law provides that the membership of the commission shall consist of seven members who shall be appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five of these members shall be professional engineers and two, representatives of the general public.

Landscape Architectural Examining Board

JEFFRÉY D. BENSON, chair, Ames; term expires 1993
ALFRED C. BOHLING, JR., Columbus Junction, term expires 1992
CECELIA SMITH BURNETT, Ames; term expires 1993
M. SUSAN ERICKSON, Ames; term expires 1991
DIANA E. HOOGESTRAAT, Glenwood, term expires 1992
CRAIG D. RITLAND, Waterloo; term expires 1991
STEVE A. SCHROEDER, Des Moines; term expires 1993
Glenda Loving, executive secretary

The Landscape Architectural Examining Board was first enacted in 1975. A person shall not use the title of landscape architect or any title or device indicating or representing in any manner that such person is a landscape architect or is practicing landscape architecture unless such person is a registered landscape architect. The commission shall conduct examinations of applicants for certificates of registration as landscape architects at least once each year and shall meet annually at the seat of government.

Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board

SUSAN D. ALBRIGHT, Boone; term expires 1991 JOHN L. FELDERMAN, Dubuque; term expires 1993 ARTHUR J. FRAHM, Des Moines; term expires 1992 PAT A. HASTINGS, Jefferson; term expires 1992 MARY P. MITCHELL, Council Bluffs; term expires 1993 EARLIS C. ROHRET, Oxford; term expires 1991 ARNE F. WALDSTEIN, Alta; term expires 1992 William M. Schroder, executive secretary

The Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board was enacted in 1989 to establish standards for real estate appraisals and to establish procedures for the voluntary certification of real estate appraisers.

The board consists of seven members, two of whom shall be public members and five of whom shall be real estate appraisers. All board members are appointed by the governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The members are appointed to three year terms.

The board shall examine candidates for certification, issue certificates, investigate violations and infractions of the law and revoke, suspend, or administer other disciplinary sanctions to persons found to be in violation of the law and/or administrative rules.

Real Estate Commission

JAMES R. BERRY, chair, Iowa City; term expires 1991 ROBERT H. CHRISTENSEN, Humboldt; term expires 1993 JERRY F. DUGGAN, Council Bluffs; term expires 1992 E. JOE ANN LUTZ, Des Moines; term expires 1993 MARLYS NIELSEN, Chariton; term expires 1991 Roger Hansen, executive secretary

The first real estate license law was enacted by the 43rd General Assembly and became effective on January 1, 1930.

The Real Estate Commission administers the Iowa Real Estate License Law, Chapter 117, and Sales of Subdivided Land Outside of Iowa, Chapter 117A. The commission also administers appropriate portions of the Continuing Education Program, Chapter 258A. The license law authorizes the commission to issue licenses and regulate the activities of real estate brokers and salespersons, and to carry out a program of real estate education. The subdivided land law authorizes the commission to register out-of-state subdividers who engage in business in Iowa, and to refer violations to the attorney general or to an appropriate court. Chapter 258A requires licensees to participate in continuing education, and authorizes the commission to make rules.