ARCHITECTURAL EXAMINING BOARD §544A.1

Professional Licensing and Regulation Bureau, 200 East Grand Avenue, Suite 350, Des Moines 50309; 515.725.9022 Lori SchraderBachar. Board Administrator

Name	City	Term Ending
Linda Alfson Schemmel, Chair		
Tandi Brannaman	Iowa City	April 30, 2020
Kolby DeWitt	Sioux City	April 30, 2019
Joseph Ferrentino	Des Moines	April 30, 2020
Emily Forquer	Afton	April 30, 2019
Scott Hatfield	West Des Moines	April 30, 2018
Jerry Purdy	Adel	April 30, 2020

The law for the licensure of architects and appointment of the Architectural Examining Board was enacted in 1927. The General Assembly in 1965 amended the law to be a practice Act. The board also administers appropriate portions of the continuing education and regulation program, Iowa Code chapter 272C. The board consists of seven members, two of whom must be public members and five who possess an architectural license and have been in active practice for not less than five years. The board meets every other month.

The Architectural Registration Examination is administered via computer through a national testing service. The board is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and collaborates closely with the council.

ENGINEERING AND LAND SURVEYING EXAMINING BOARD §542B.3

Professional Licensing and Regulation Bureau, 200 East Grand Avenue, Suite 350, Des Moines 50309; 515.725.9021 Robert E. Lampe, Executive Officer

Name	City	Term Ending
Robert Fairfax, Chair	Norwalk	April 30, 2019
Todde Folkerts	Chariton	April 30, 2020
Eric Green	Creston	April 30, 2019
Rita Perea	Des Moines	April 30, 2020
Laura Sievers	Rock Rapids	April 30, 2018
Lisa VanDenBerg	Johnston	April 30, 2018
	Marion	
C		1 ,

The Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board was created by the General Assembly in 1919. A person cannot practice professional engineering or land surveying without first being registered with the board. The board meets regularly and conducts examinations of applicants for licensure regularly throughout the year.

The law provides that the membership of the board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Four of these members must be professional engineers, one member must be a land surveyor or a professional engineer who is also a land surveyor, and two members who are not licensed professional engineers or land surveyors must be appointed to represent the general public.