to the practice of accountancy in the state of Iowa. This includes the examining of candidates, issuing of certificates and licenses, granting permits to practice accountancy, investigating violations and infractions of the accountancy law, and revoking, suspending or refusing to renew certificates, licenses, or permits.

The commission consists of eight members, five of whom shall be practicing certified public accountants, two members representing the general public, and one AP who serves a one-year term. All other commission members are appointed to three-year staggered terms by the governor.

Architectural Examining Board

GLEN D. HUNTINGTON, chair, Storm Lake; term expires 2000 NORMAN H. RUDI, vice-chair, Ames; term expires 1998 GWEN ECKLUND, Denison; term expires 1999 GORDON E. MILLS, Dubuque; term expires 1999 KEVIN W. MONSON, Iowa City; term expires 2000 CAROLYN ELAINE OLSEN, Minden; term expires 1998 KATE SCHWENNSEN, Des Moines; term expires 1999 Glenda Loving, executive secretary

The law for the registration of architects and appointment of the Architectural Examining Board was enacted in 1927. The 61st General Assembly amended the law to provide a practice act. The board consists of seven members; two of whom shall be public members and five members who possess a certificate of architect registration and who have been in active practice for not less than five years. The board meets annually in July and at various other times.

The Architectural Registration Examination (ARE) is administered at least once a year. The board is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and collaborates closely with the council.

Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board

TERRY L. MARTIN, chair, Des Moines; term expires 2000 NICHOLAS R. KONRADY, vice-chair, Webster City; term expires 1999 GWENDOLYN BOEKE, Cresco; term expires 1999 KENNETH BREWER, Ames; term expires 1999 DWAYNE C. GARBER, Marshalltown; term expires 1998 SUSAN M. LONG, Fairfield; term expires 2000 VACANT Caroline Finch, Executive Secretary

The Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board was created by the 38th General Assembly in 1919. No person can practice professional engineering or land surveying without first being registered with this board. The board meets regularly and conducts examinations of applicants for registration twice each year.

The law provides that the membership of the commission shall consist of seven members who shall be appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five of these members shall be professional engineers and two, representatives of the general public.

Landscape Architectural Examining Board

GREG JONES, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1999 DENNIS AUSENHUS, vice-chair, Ankeny; term expires 1999 ALFRED C. BOHLING, Columbus Junction; term expires 1998 DIANA E. HOOGESTRAAT, Glenwood; term expires 1998 MONTY MITCHELL, Davenport; term expires 2000 JOAN VITALE, Indianola; term expires 1999 Glenda Loving, executive secretary

The Landscape Architectural Examining Board was first enacted in 1975. A person shall not use the title of landscape architect or any title or device indicating or representing in any manner that such person is a landscape architect or is practicing landscape architecture unless such person is a registered landscape architect. The commission shall conduct examinations of applicants for certificates of registration as landscape architects at least once each year and shall meet annually at the seat of government.