Architectural Examining Board

JAMES WILKINS, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1991 GWEN M. BOEKE, public member, Cresco; term expires 1990 RUTH ROBERTS, public member, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1992 WILLIAM M. DIKIS, Des Moines; term expires 1992 RICHARD W. PATTSCHULL, Iowa City; term expires 1991 KENNETH J. STEFFEN, Ottumwa; term expires 1990 BARBARA WELANDER, Mt. Pleasant; term expires 1990

K. Marie Thayer, executive secretary

The law for the registration of architects and appointment of the Architectural Examining Board was enacted in 1927. The 61st General Assembly amended the law to provide a practice act. Anyone wishing to practice architecture in the state of Iowa shall be required to qualify under the provisions of this act. The board meets annually in July and at various other times. Examinations are given once each year. The Architectural Registration Examination is administered over a period of four days. The commission is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and collaborates closely with the council.

Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board

JAMES W. VANDER WOUDE, chair, Rock Rapids; term expires 1992 CHERYL J. RICHARDSON, public member, Des Moines; term expires 1992 VIRGINIA E. RUARK, public member, Oelwein; term expires 1990 JOLEE L. BELZUNG, Ankeny; term expires 1991 GARY D. DARLAND, Charles City; term expires 1990 RICHARD A. MARR, Muscatine; term expires 1991 HAROLD DALE WIGHT, Denison; term expires 1990

Patricia Peters, executive secretary

The Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board was created by the 38th General Assembly in 1919. No person can practice professional engineering or land surveying without first being registered with this board. The board meets from time to time and conducts examinations of applicants for registration.

The law provides that the membership of the commission shall consist of seven members who shall be appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five of these members shall be professional engineers and two, representatives of the general public.

Landscape Architectural Examining Board

JEFFREY D. BENSON, chair, Ames; term expires 1990
ALFRED C. BOHLING, JR., Columbus Junction, term expires 1992
CECELIA SMITH BURNETT, Ames; term expires 1990
M. SUSAN ERICKSON, Ames; term expires 1991
DIANA E. HOOGESTRAAT, Glenwood, term expires 1992
CRAIG D. RITLAND, Waterloo; term expires 1991
STEVE A. SCHROEDER, Des Moines; term expires 1990

Glenda Loving, executive secretary

The Landscape Architectural Examining Board was first enacted in 1975. A person shall not use the title of landscape architect or any title or device indicating or representing in any manner that such person is a landscape architect or is practicing landscape architecture unless such person is a registered landscape architect. The commission shall conduct examinations of applicants for certificates of registration as landscape architects at least once each year and shall meet annually at the seat of government.

Real Estate Commission

JAMES R. BERRY, chair, Iowa City; term expires 1991 ROBERT H. CHRISTENSEN, Humboldt; term expires 1990 JERRY F. DUGGAN, Council Bluffs; term expires 1992 E. JOE ANN LUTZ, Des Moines; term expires 1990 MARLYS NIELSEN, Chariton; term expires 1991

Kenneth L. Smith, executive secretary

The first real estate license law was enacted by the 43rd General Assembly and became effective on January 1, 1930.