Iowa State Fair

(Ex Officio Members of Fair Board)
Robert D. Ray, Governor of Iowa
W. Robert Parks, President, Iowa State University Ames
Robert H. Lounsberry, Secretary of Agriculture McCallsburg
Officers
President—C. J. Matthiessen Monticello
Vice President—W. L. Yount Altoona
Secretary-Manager—Kenneth R. Fulk Des Moines
Treasurer—Thomas N. Scott
District Directors
First District—Howard Waters Danville
Second District—C. J. Matthiessen
Third District—Don Greiman Garner
Fourth District—C. C. Wagler Bloomfield
Fifth District—G. W. Prince
Sixth District—Jean M. Kleve Humboldt
Directors at Large
Joe Deeney Waukon
H. M. Duncan
W. L. Yount Altoona

Information on State Fair

For over 100 years, the Iowa State Fair has been gaining steadily in size, prestige and public service. Today, it is nationally recognized as America's greatest agricultural and livestock fair. Situated in the heart of the world's wealthiest agricultural empire, it is the focal point each year for exhibitors of the finest livestock and farm products. In attendance, too, it stands in the front rank of the great educational and entertainment expositions on the North American continent.

tional and entertainment expositions on the North American continent.

The Iowa State Fair, the original "State Fair" of a best-selling novel and of two hit motion picutres, is held in Des Moines each year. It runs for 10 days in late

August.

The livestock show, largest of its kind in America, attracts over 12,000 of the finest farm animals from leading agricultural states. The 4-H and F.F.A. shows, state-wide congress of farm young people's organizations and their livestock and projects, add to the fame of the fair.

Emphasis on the meatier strains of livestock, more suitable for consumer wants and needs is being increased at the Iowa State Fair. The fair continues to pioneer

in the most advanced pork, lamb and beef carcass shows in the nation.

Over 250 companies and industries of Iowa display in the giant machinery and farm implement show. More specialized space is being added each year, such as travel village, Teen Town, Heritage Village, etc.

People are not forgotten at the Iowa State Fair—in fact, people make the fair. The fair is planned so everyone can become involved in an educational or worth-while activity. Individuals may express themselves by exhibiting photographs, works of art, culinary, gardening, needlework, flowers, pigeons, rabbits, poultry, participating in school science show, church exhibits, outdoor cookout contests and in many other ways.

From the huge State Fair grandstand, one of the finest amphitheaters in the nation, fairgoers witness a varied series of spectacles and events, including national championship auto races, midwest circuit horse races, thrill day, musical

extravaganzas, fireworks and circus acts.

The first and second Iowa State Fairs were held in Fairfield, Iowa, in 1854 and 1855. From 1856 to 1879, the State Fair moved from city to city. It was held in Muscatine in 1856 and 1857; Oskaloosa, 1858 and 1859; Iowa City, 1860 and 1861; Dubuque, 1862 and 1863; Burlington, 1864-1866; Clinton, 1867 and 1868; Keokuk, 1869, 1870, 1874 and 1875; and Cedar Rapids, 1871, 1873 and 1876-1878.

In 1879 the State Fair moved to Des Moines to stay. In 1884 the legislature appropriated \$50,000 to purchase a state fairgrounds on condition that the City of

Des Moines raise an equal amount for buildings and facilities. The city concurred, and Iowa thus became the second state in the midwest to acquire a permanent site for its fair.

In 1923 the general assembly changed the former method of fair administration by providing for an Iowa department of agriculture and a state fair board, and giving this board the duty of managing the fair and the custody of the fairgrounds. Now the fair board comprises one director from each congressional district, and three directors at large elected at the annual meeting in December of the state agricultural convention. Official delegates to the convention represent each of the 103 fairs in Iowa. There are three ex officio directors on the fair board and these include the Governor, secretary of agriculture and president of Iowa State University. The president and vice president of the fair are elected by the board from the elected directors. The state fair board selects the secretary and the treasurer of the fair.

All operating expense, maintenance and other costs of the fair are paid out of fair receipts, except where the legislature may deem it advisable to make a special appropriation for such purposes.

Since 1902 the legislature has appropriated \$1,520,188 for the construction of permanent buildings on the fairgrounds, purchase of additional land and for necessary improvements. In recent years, however, the State Fair has used only its own revenues for these purposes. Altogether, since 1902, the fair itself has expended \$4,883,830 for maintenance and improvements from actual profits of the fair. One major building project financed by fair funds is the fireproof 4-H Girls' dormitory, which was formally opened and presented to the Girls' 4-H Club for their use at the 1950 Iowa State Fair. Another is the Radio and Television Center providing studios for programs originating on the grounds as well as established programs featuring well known announcers and entertainers. This building was built and in use in 1956. Premiums, amounting to over \$230,000 a year, are also provided by the fair for winners in exhibits and contests.

Iowa State Highway Commission

Central Office Ames Term Four Years

ROBERT R. RIGLER, Chairman, Chickasaw County, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975.

STEPHEN GARST, Vice Chairman, Carroll County, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1977.

JULES M. BUSKER, Woodbury County, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1975. HARRY F. REED, Madison County, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975. DAVID O. SHAFF, Clinton County, Republican; term expires June 30, 1977.

Administration JOSEPH R. COUPAL, JR., Director of Highways. HOWARD E. GUNNERSON, Chief Engineer.

History and Development of the State Highway Commission

The Iowa State Highway Commission was created by the general assembly in 1904. The law empowered Iowa State College to act as the State Highway Commission. The state board of education appointed Dean Anson Marston of the engineering division and Dean Charles F. Curtiss of the agricultural department of Iowa State College to serve as directors of the commission.

The directors selected Thomas H. MacDonald to serve as secretary and engineer for the commission. The duties of the commission from 1904 to 1913 were to make investigations and studies of highway conditions, to provide information and advice to local road authorities, and to conduct annual road schools for county and township road officials.

In 1913, the Thirty-fifth General Assembly created a State Highway Commis-