ZACHARY M. NUNN, Des Moines; term expires 1998 CYNTHIA REHM, Des Moines; term expires 1998 ERIC L. SAGE, Des Moines; term expires 2000 JACKSON T. SELK, Cedar Rapids; term expires 2000 LEAHGRETA SPEARS, Des Moines; term expires 1998 VARELL WILEY II, Des Moines; term expires 1999 THOMAS WILSON, Davenport; term expires 1999

Ex-officio Member

ALMO HAWKINS, director, Department of Human Services

The Juvenile Justice Advisory Council was established to stimulate efforts to bring Iowa into compliance with the mandates of the federal Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974 and to administer the funds coming to the state as provided in the act.

The Juvenile Justice Advisory council administers the act which:

- 1. prohibits placing status offenders or non-offenders in secure detention or correctional facilities.
- 2. prohibits confining juvenile delinquents with adult offenders.
- 3. prohibits detaining juveniles in adult jails and lock-ups.
- 4. requires efforts to reduce the proportion of juveniles detained or confined in secure facilities who are members of minority groups, if such proportion accedes the proportion such groups represent in the general population.

The council supports community-based services, coordination, and prevention efforts. The act requires that the council have representatives of private organizations concerned with family strength; volunteer organizations; community-based treatment programs; businesses employing youth; youth workers with alternative youth programs; and expertise in the problems of the family, school violence, vandalism, and learning disabilities. At least one-fifth of the membership is to be under the age of 24.

Deaf Services, Division of

Kathryn Baumann-Reese, acting administrator; Divsion of Deaf Services, Dept. of Human Rights, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3164 V/TDD

POLLY ADAM, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1998 DONNA HANSEN, Cedar Falls; term expires 1998 JACK PURCELL, Algona; term expires 2000 SHARON TERRY, Council Bluffs; term expires 1999 MARVIN TUTTLE, Des Moines; term expires 1998 LOREN J. WOODS, Ankeny; term expires 1999

Ex-officio Member

ALMO HAWKINS, director, Department of Human Services

The Deaf Services Commission of Iowa is a division of the Department of Human Rights. The seven members serving on the commission are appointed by the governor. At least four members of the commission shall be persons who cannot hear human speech with or without the use of amplification.

The duties of the commission include cooperating with the public and private agencies to assist them in identifying the needs of the deaf community and providing and/or coordinating services to meet those needs. Some of those services include interpreting services, advocacy and consultation services, referral to community resources, legislation development, and collecting and disseminating information regarding deafness through comprehensive library services, and other forms of public contact.

Persons with Disabilities, Iowa Commission of

Almo Hawkins, administrator, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 515/281-5969

DAVID BOYD, chair, Waterloo; term expires 1999 NINA BRICKMAN, Westgate; term expires 1998 RANDY BROWN, Osceola; term expires 1998 ROBERT L. BURKGREN, LaPorte City; term expires 1998 GAYLA CRAVEN, West Des Moines; term expires 1999 BONITA DAVIS, Independence; term expires 1999 REVEREND GARY A. DE VRIES, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1999 NANCY J. DUNLAP, Des Moines; term expires 1999

154

DANIEL D. DYKSTRA, Sioux City; term expires 1999 JOSEPH HAYS, Truro; term expires 1999 DAVID C. JOHNSTON, Ankeny; term expires 1999 DR. DARWIN M. LARSON, Thurman; term expires 1999 MAX MATTHIESEN, DeWitt; term expires 1998 DARLENE M. MC MARTIN, Hancock; term expires 1999 STEVEN OBERBROECKLING, Des Moines; term expires 1999 KATHLEEN O'LEARY, Des Moines; term expires 1998 A. JANE ORRIS, Eldridge; term expires 1999 VICTORIA RAY, Des Moines; term expires 1998 PATRICIA T. SMITH, Fort Dodge; term expires 1998 HOWARD W. VERNON, JR., Iowa City; term expires 1999 LEONA WESTPHAL, Corning; term expires 1998 CHRISTINE M. WILSON, Indianola; term expires 1999 EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1999

Ex-Officio Members

TED STILWELL, Department of Education, Des Moines IRIS POST, Division of Industrial Services, Des Moines BYRON ORTON, Division of Labor Services, Des Moines LINDA HANSON, Department of Personnel, Des Moines R. CREIG SLAYTON, Department for the Blind, Des Moines CHARLES PALMER, Department of Human Services, Des Moines CYNTHIA EISENHAUER, Department of Workforce Development, Des Moines MARGE KNUDSON, Vocational Rehabilitation Services, Des Moines CHRISTOPHER ATCHISON, Department of Public Health, Des Moines JAY BREWER, Governor's Planning Council for Development Disabilities, Des Moines

Latino Affairs, Division of

Sylvia Tijerina, administrator, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4070

JOHN-PAUL CHAISSON, Coralville; term expires 1999 ROBERT C. DERANLEAU, Creston; term expires 1999 GUADALUPE FLORES, Muscatine; term expires 1999 REVERAND RAMON L. GIMENEZ, Clinton; term expires 1999 PAULA MARTINEZ, Carlisle; term expires 1999 TERESA MARTINEZ, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1999 MARIA Y. MORAVEC, Sioux City; term expires 1999 RAUL G. SEQUEIRA, Des Moines; term expires 1999 CLAUDIA ZELLWEGER, Clarion; term expires 1999

Ex-officio Member

ALMO HAWKINS, director, Department of Human Rights

In 1976, the Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission was created by the General Assembly to act as an advocacy and advisory agency for Spanish-speaking Iowans in certain areas of concern, including education, employment, health, housing, administration of justice, welfare, and recreation.

The nine member commission, appointed by the governor, sets policy and direction for the staff. As of July 1, 1986, the staff support for the commission is provided by the Division of Latino Affairs, part of the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation. Its mandate set forth in Chapter 601K, *Code of Iowa*, was amended assigning additional responsibilities for recommending interpreters for use by Iowa courts.

Status of African-Americans, Division of

Romelle H. Slaughter, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319: 515/281-3855

WILFRED M. JOHNSON, chair, Waterloo; term expires 2000 THERESA E. CLARK, Fort Madison; term expires 2000 TAMERA L. DIGGS-TATE, Des Moines; term expires 2000 JIM HESTER, Davenport; term expires 1998 DARRYL L. LIPSCOMB, Cedar Rapids; term expires 2000 ANDRE PEERY, recorder, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1998