lowa Commission of Persons with Disabilities

Almo Hawkins, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5969

JIM CHALSTROM, chair, Ames; term expires 1995
PAT SIMMONS, vice chair, Atlantic; term expires 1995
CHRIS WILSON, secretary, Indianola; term expires 1995
CHERRI BAILEY, Clarinda; term expires 1996
DAVID BOYD, Waterloo; term expires 1995
NINA BRICKMAN, Westgate; term expires 1996
PAUL BRODIGAN, Glenwood; term expires 1995
ROBERT L. BURKGREN, LaPorte City; term expires 1996
RONALD GROOMS, Ames; term expires 1996
MAX MATTHIESEN, DeWitt; term expires 1996
KATHLEEN O'LEARY, Des Moines; term expires 1996
MITCHELL L. O'NEEL, Ankeny; term expires 1996
VICTORIA RAY, Des Moines; term expires 1996
DON REINEKE, Slater; term expires 1996
DON REINEKE, Slater; term expires 1996
MERLE SMITH, Fairfield; term expires 1996
MARIS SNIDER, Iowa City; term expires 1995
JANET STEFFY, Clarion; term expires 1995
LYDIA WATTS, Des Moines; term expires 1995
LYDIA WATTS, Des Moines; term expires 1996
EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1996

Lating Affairs, Division of

Sylvia Tijerina, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4070

OLGA ARELLANO, chair, Council Bluffs; term expires 1995 THOMAS GUZMAN, vice chair, Des Moines; term expires 1995 REYNALDO CARDENAS, West Liberty; term expires 1995 ROSA MARIA DE FINDLAY, Cedar Falls; term expires 1995 SISTER CAROL HAWKINS, Storm Lake; term expires 1995 MARIA NESBIT, Des Moines; term expires 1995 ROBERT MATA, Marshalltown; term expires 1995 ALMO HAWKINS, Director, Department of Human Rights; Des Moines

In 1976, the Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission was created by the General Assembly to act as an advocacy and advisory agency for Spanish-speaking Iowans in certain areas of concern, including education, employment, health, housing, administration of justice, welfare, and recreation.

The nine-member commission, appointed by the governor, sets policy and direction for the staff. As of July 1, 1986, the staff support for the commission is provided by the Division of Latino Affairs, part of the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation. Its mandate set forth in Chapter 601K, Code of Iowa was amended assigning additional responsibilities for recommending interpreters for use by Iowa courts.

Status of African-Americans, Division of

Romelle H. Slaughter, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3855

RONALD N. LANGSTON, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1996
LAMETTA WYNN, vice chair, Clinton; terms expires 1996
ANDRE PEERY, recorder, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1998
DR. SCHARRON CLAYTON, commissioner, Waterloo; term expires 1998
GERALD FIELDS, commissioner, Sioux City; term expires 1996
JIM HESTER, commissioner; Davenport; term expires 1998
REV. MARVIN JENKINS, commissioner; Waterloo; term expires 1996
MYRT LEVIN, commissioner, Des Moines; terms expires 1996
MAUDE WHITE, commissioner; Des Moines; term expires 1995

The Commission on the Status of African-Americans, formerly known as the Commission on the Status of Blacks, was created by statute in 1988. The nine member commission is appointed by the governor. The commission sets policy and direction for the staff who compromise the Division of the Status of African-Americans within the Department of Human Rights. The Division Administrator is appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation.