programs; businesses employing youth; youth workers with alternative youth programs; and expertise in the problems of the family, school violence, vandalism, and learning disabilities. At least one-fifth of the membership is to be under the age of 24.

## Deaf Services, Division of

Diana Leonard, administrator; Division of Deaf Services, Department of Human Rights, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3164 V/TDD

JIM SNYDER, chair, Dubuque; term expires 1994 BRYCE KERR, Council Bluffs; term expires 1993

KIM KISCHER-LARSON, Cedar Falls; term expires 1995

JILL ROBINSON, Des Moines; term expires 1993 PATRICK SELL, Story City; term expires 1994 MARVIN TUTTLE, Des Moines; term expires 1995

JOAN WEBSTER-VORE, Hudson; term expires 1993

The Deaf Services Commission of Iowa is a division of the Department of Human Rights. The seven members serving on the commission are appointed by the governor. At least four members of the commission shall be persons who cannot hear human speech with or without the use of amplification.

The duties of the commission include cooperating with public and private agencies to assist them in identifying the needs of the deaf community and providing and/ or coordinating services to meet those needs. Some of those services include sign language interpreting services, advocacy and consultation services, referral to community resources, legislation development, and collecting and disseminating information regarding deafness through comprehensive library services, and other forms of public contact.

## Persons with Disabilities, Division of

Donald W. Westergard, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5969

ANGELINE ANDERSON, co-chair, Des Moines; term expires 1993

EDWARD HEIM, JR., co-chair, Des Moines; term expires 1994 ARLYN WEIENETH, vice-chair, Elkhart; term expires 1994

BETTY J. ASHCRAFT, Davenport; term expires 1993

CHERRI BAILEY, Clarinda; term expires 1994 MARGARET BOEDEKER, Maynard; term expires 1993

BERNARD BIDNE, Forest City; term expires 1993

DAVID BOYD, Waterloo; term expires 1993

ROBERT BURKGREN, LaPorte City; term expires 1994

PAUL BRODIGAN, Glenwood; term expires 1993 RONALD GROOMS, Ames; term expires 1994

B.L. HAWN, Spirit Lake; term expires 1994 HARRIET JOHNSON, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993 PATRICIA MARTIN, Des Moines; term expires 1993

LARUE OLSON, Des Moines; term expires 1993

RAYMOND OLSON, Honey Creek; term expires 1994

KATHLEEN O'LEARY, Des Moines; term expires 1994

PAT SIMMONS, Altantic; term expires 1993 ELAINE SMITH, Fairfield; term expires 1993

MERLE SMITH, Sioux City; term expires 1994

MARIS SNIDER, Iowa City; term expires 1993

LINDA VANDERLOO, Des Moines; term expires 1993 LEWIS VIERLING, Ankeny; term expires 1994 EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993 The Commission of Persons with Disabilities (formerly Governor's Committee on Employment of the Handicapped) operates as a division of the Iowa Department of Human Rights. The commission is composed of 25 members and nine ex-officio members who are in charge of other state agencies interested in employment for disabled persons. Members of the commission include disabled persons as well as representatives from industry, labor, business, agriculture, federal, state, and local government and representatives of religious, charitable, fraternal, civic, educational, medical, legal, veteran, welfare, women's, and other professional groups and organizations. Members of the commission are appointed for a term of two years and may be reappointed when their terms expire.

The commission is charged with cooperating with all public and private agencies interested in employment of disabled persons and with encouraging and assisting in the organization of committees at the community level.

The members work closely in developing employer acceptance of qualified workers with disabilities and informing individuals with disabilities of specific facilities available in seeking employment.

## Latino Affairs, Division of

Sylvia Tijerina, administrator; First Floor, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4070

OLGA ARELLANO, chair, Council Bluffs; term expires 1993

LINDA BATA, Davenport; term expires 1993

ROSA MARIA DE FINDLAY, Cedar Falls; term expires 1993 CHRISTINA M. GONZALES, Des Moines; term expires 1993

THOMAS GUZMAN, Des Moines; term expires 1993

MARIA NESBITT, Des Moines; term expires 1993 LANDO VALADEZ, West Des Moines; term expires 1993

VACANCY

In 1976, the Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission was created by the General Assembly to act as an advocacy and advisory agency for Spanish-speaking Iowans in certain areas of concern, including education, employment, health, housing, administration of justice, welfare, and recreation.

The nine-member commission, appointed by the governor, sets policy and direction for the staff. As of July 1, 1986, the staff support for the commission is provided by the Division of Latino Affairs, part of the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation. Its mandate set forth in Chapter 601K, Code of Iowa was amended assigning additional responsibilities for recommending interpreters for use by Iowa courts.

## Status of African-Americans, Division of

Gary Lawson, administrator: Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319: 515/ 281-3855

RONALD LANGSTON, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1996

GERALD FIELDS, Sioux City; term expires 1996

SYLVESTER GRADY, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1994

GEORGE A. ROSSUM, Council Bluffs; term expires 1994

ADA TREDWELL, Waterloo; term expires 1996

ANNA MAE WEEMS, Waterloo; term expires 1994

MAUDE WHITE, Des Moines; term expires 1996

LA METTA WYNN, Clinton; term expires 1996

The Commission on the Status of Blacks was created by statute in 1988. The ninemember commission, appointed by the governor, sets policy and direction for the staff who comprise the Status of Blacks Division within the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation.

The objectives of the commission include studying the changing needs and problems of black Iowans and recommending new programs, policies, and constructive action to the governor and the General Assembly in such areas as:

- 1. Public and private employment policies and practices.
- Iowa labor laws.
- 3. Legal treatment relating to political and civil rights.
- 4. Black children, youth, and families.
- Expanded programs to assist blacks as consumers.
- 6. The employment of blacks and the initiation and sustentation of black businesses and black entrepreneurship.
- 7. Blacks as members of private and public boards, committees, and organizations.
- 8. Education, health, housing, social welfare, human rights, and recreation.
- 9. The legal system, including law enforcement, both criminal and civil.

Social service programs.

Duties of the commission include:

- 1. Serving as an information clearinghouse on programs and agencies operating to assist blacks.
- 2. Conducting conferences and training programs for blacks, public and private agencies and organizations, and the general public.
- 3. Coordinating, assisting, and cooperating with public and private agencies in efforts to expand equal rights and opportunities for blacks in the areas of: employment, economic development, education, health, housing, recreation, social welfare, social services, and the legal system.