Rights. The seven members serving on the commission are appointed by the governor. At least four members of the commission shall be persons who cannot hear human

speech with or without the use of amplification.

The duties of the commission include cooperating with public and private agencies to assist them in identifying the needs of the deaf community and providing and/or coordinating services to meet those needs. Some of those services include sign language interpreting services, advocacy and consultation services, referral to community resources, legislation development, and collecting and disseminating information regarding deafness through comprehensive library services, texts news broadcasts, and other forms of public contact.

## **Juvenile Justice Advisory Council**

ALLISON FLEMING, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1993
PATRICIA HENDRICKSON, vice-chair, Wheatland; term expires 1992
ANTHONY BURRELL, Des Moines; term expires 1993
DENISE DENTON, Ames; term expires 1993
WAYNE FORD, Des Moines; term expires 1992
ROBERT GREENLEE, Cedar Falls; term expires 1992
MERLIE HOWELL, Des Moines; term expires 1993
SARAH LESLIE, West Des Moines; term expires 1992
SYLVIA LEWIS, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1992
MARTIN MILLER, Ames; term expires 1993
WARREN MONTGOMERY, Sioux City; term expires 1992
SUSAN NEHRING, Iowa City; term expires 1993
CYNTHIA REHM, Ames; term expires 1992
LEAHGRETA SPEARS, Des Moines; term expires 1992

RON STEHL, Des Moines; term expires 1993 ALLAN VANDER HART, Independence; term expires 1991 The Juvenile Justice Advisory Council was established to stimulate efforts to bring

Inwa into compliance with the mandates of the federal Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974 and to administer the funds coming to the state as provided in the act.

The Juvenile Justice Advisory Council administers the act which:

 prohibits placing status offenders or non-offenders in secure detention or correctional facilities.

prohibits confining juvenile delinquents with adult offenders.

prohibits detaining juveniles in adult jails and lock-ups.

4. Requires efforts to reduce the proportion of juveniles detained or confined in secure facilities who are members of minority groups, if such proportion acceeds the proportion such groups represent in the general population.

The council supports community-based services, coordination, and prevention

efforts.

The act requires that the council have representatives of private organizations concerned with family strength; volunteer organizations; community-based treatment programs; businesses employing youth; youth workers with alternative youth programs; and expertise in the problems of the family, school violence, vandalism, and learning disabilities. At least one-fifth of the membership is to be under the age of 24.

## Persons with Disabilities, Commission of

Donald W. Westergard, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5969

LEWIS VIERLING, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1992
LINDA VANDERLOO, vice-chair, Johnston; term expires 1991
HARRIET CASSELL, secretary, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991
ANGELINE ANDERSON, Des Moines; term expires 1991
BETTY J. ASHCRAFT, Davenport; term expires 1991
JAMES BETHEL, Des Moines; term expires 1991
BERNARD BIDNE, Forest City; term expires 1991
PAUL BRODIGAN, Glenwood; term expires 1991
ANN COPIC, Des Moines; term expires 1992
LAVAUN EARWOOD, Lohrville; term expires 1992
BL. HAWN, Spirit Lake; term expires 1992
EDWARD HEIM, JR., Des Moines; term expires 1992
BETTY KLINGSON, Ft. Dodge; term expires 1991

ROBERT KOZEL, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1992
MAE MILLER, Chariton; term expires 1992
KATHLEEN O'LEARY, Des Moines; term expires 1992
ELAINE SMITH, Fairfield; term expires 1991
MERLE SMITH, Sioux City; term expires 1992
MARIS SNIDER, Iowa City; term expires 1991
ARLYN WEIENETH, Ankeny; term expires 1992
EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991

EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991

The Commission of Persons with Disabilities (formerly Governor's Committee on Employment of the Handicapped) operates as a division of the Iowa Department of Human Rights. The commission is composed of 25 members and nine ex-officio members who are in charge of other state agencies interested in employment for disabled persons. Members of the commission include disabled persons as well as representatives from industry, labor, business, agriculture, federal, state, and local government and representatives of religious, charitable, fraternal, civic, educational, medical, legal, veteran, welfare, women's, and other professional groups and organizations. Members of the commission are appointed for a term of two years and may be reappointed when their terms expire.

The commission is charged with cooperating with all public and private agencies interested in employment of disabled persons and with encouraging and assisting

in the organization of committees at the community level.

The members work closely in developing employer acceptance of qualified workers with disabilities and informing individuals with disabilities of specific facilities available in seeking employment.

## **Advisory Council on Head Injuries**

Donald W. Westergard, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5969

JO ANN KRAMER, chair, Waterloo; term expires 1991
PATRICIA MCCOLLOM, vice-chair, Ankeny; term expires 1991
JOHN BAYLESS, secretary, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991
CHARLES DENHART, Johnston; term expires 1991
JAMES C. HARDY, Iowa City; term expires 1991
DELBERT L. JENSEN, St. Ansgar; term expires 1991
JUDITH LEAMING, Des Moines; term expires 1991
JUDITH LEAMING, West Des Moines; term expires 1991
CAROL WATSON, Iowa City; term expires 1991
ALBERT F. WIUFF, Ankeny; term expires 1991

The Advisory Council on Head Injuries operates as part of the Division of Persons with Disabilities, within the Iowa Department of Human Rights. The council is composed of 10 members and 7 ex-officio members who are: in charge of other state agencies interested in persons with head injuries; representatives of industry, labor, business, and agriculture; representatives of federal, state, and local government; and representatives of religious, charitable, fraternal, civic, educational, medical, legal, veteran, welfare, and other professional groups and organizations. Members of the council are appointed for two years and may be reappointed when their terms expire.

The council is to study the needs of persons with head injuries and to make recommendations to the governor and the General Assembly for developing and administering a state plan to provide service for Iowans with head injuries.

## **Commission on Latino Affairs**

Celso Ramirez, administrator; First Floor, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4070

MARY KIERNAN, chair, Neola; term expires 1991 TERESA A. GARCIA, Coralville; term expires 1991 CHRISTINA M. GONZALES, Des Moines; term expires 1991 JAIME HERNANDEZ, Ames; term expires 1991 TOMAS D. MUNOZ, Polk City; term expires 1991 JIM RAMOS, Des Moines; term expires 1991 JULIO RODRIGUEZ, Sioux City; term expires 1991 JUANITA WRIGHT, Cedar Falls; term expires 1991 VACANCY

In 1976, the Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission was created by the General Assembly to act as an advocacy and advisory agency for Spanish-speaking Iowans