The Juvenile Justice Advisory Council administers the act which:

- prohibits placing status offenders or non-offenders in secure detention or correctional facilities.
- 2. prohibits confining juvenile delinquents with adult offenders.

prohibits detaining juveniles in adult jails and lock-ups.

The council supports community-based services, coordination, and prevention efforts.

The act requires that the council have representatives of private organizations concerned with family strength; volunteer organizations; community-based treatment programs; businesses employing youth; youth workers with alternative youth programs; and expertise in the problems of the family, school violence, vandalism, and learning disabilities. At least one-fifth of the membership is to be under the age of 24.

Persons with Disabilities, Commission of

Donald W. Westergard, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5969

HELEN SETTLE, chair, Marshalltown; term expires 1989 LEWIS VIERLING, vice-chair, Des Moines; term expires 1990 ANGELINE ANDERSON, Des Moines; term expires 1989 BETTY J. ASHCRAFT, Davenport; term expires 1989 JAMES BETHEL, Des Moines; term expires 1989 BERNARD BIDNE, Forest City; term expires 1989 PAUL BRODIGAN, Glenwood; term expires 1989 HARRIET CASSELL, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1989 ANN COPIC, Des Moines; term expires 1990 LAVAUN EARWOOD, Lohrville; term expires 1989 RONALD GROOMS, Ames; term expires 1990 B.L. HAWN, Spirit Lake; term expires 1990 EDWARD HEIM, JR., Des Moines; term expires 1990 BETTY KLINGSON, Ft. Dodge; term expires 1989 ROBERT KOZEL, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1990 MAE MILLER, Chariton; term expires 1990 KATHLEEN O'LEARY, Des Moines, term expires 1990 MERLE SMITH, Sioux City; term expires 1990 VERA SMITH, Fairfield, term expires 1989 MARIS SNIDER, Iowa City; term expires 1989 JOHN STASCHKE, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1990 LINDA VANDERLOO, Johnston; term expires 1989 WILLIAM WAGNER, Dallas Center; term expires 1990 ARLYN WEIENETH, Ankeny; term expires 1990

EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1989

The Commission of Persons with Disabilities (formerly Governor's Committee on Employment of the Handicapped) operates as a division of the Iowa Department of Human Rights. The commission is composed of 25 members and nine ex-officio members who are in charge of other state agencies interested in employment for disabled persons. Members of the commission include disabled persons as well as representatives from industry, labor, business, agriculture, federal, state, and local government and representatives of religious, charitable, fraternal, civic, educational, medical, legal, veteran, welfare, women's, and other professional groups and organizations. Members of the commission are appointed for a term of two years and may be reappointed when their terms expire.

The commission is charged with cooperating with all public and private agencies interested in employment of disabled persons and with encouraging and assisting in the organization of committees at the community level.

The members work closely in developing employer acceptance of qualified workers with disabilities and informing individuals with disabilities of specific facilities available in seeking employment.