Community Action Agencies, Division of

James E. Smith, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3943

The Division of Community Action Agencies was created by 1986 Iowa Acts, Senate File 2175, Part 6, to provide a range of services to improve the conditions of poverty in the state. The three bureaus within the division include the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program, Weatherization Assistance Program and Community Services Block grant.

The purpose of the division is to provide financial assistance for community action agencies to administer the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Block Grant, Department of Energy funds for Weatherization received in Iowa, and to implement community action programs as permitted by the Community Services Block Grant.

Deat Services Commission

Diana Leonard, administrator, Division of Deaf Services, Department of Human Rights, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 515-281-7119.

GREG DESROSIERS, Council Bluffs; term expires 1988

JACK PURCELL, Algona; term expires 1987

SHIRLEY HAMPTON, Davenport; term expires 1989

LINDA GROVES, Webster City; term expires 1989

JACQUELINE SMITH, Sioux City; term expires 1987

JILL BOUSLOG, Des Moines; term expires 1987 WILLIAM KAUTZKY, Ankeny; term expires 1988

Deaf Services Commission is a part of the Department of Human Rights (formerly affiliated with the Department of Health). The seven members serving on the Commission are appointed by the governor. At least four members of the Commission shall be persons who cannot hear human speech with or without use of amplification.

The duties of the Commission include: cooperating with public and private agencies to assist them in identifying the needs of the deaf community and providing the services to meet those needs. Some of those services include interpretation services, referral to community resources, legislation development, and collecting and disseminating information regarding deafness.

Persons with Disabilities, Commission of

Donald W. Westergard, administrator; Lucas State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5969

HELEN SETTLE, Marshalltown, chair; term expires 1987 LEWIS VIERLING, Des Moines, vice-chair; term expires 1988 ANGELINE ANDERSON, Des Moines; term expires 1987 BETTY J. ASHCRAFT, Davenport; term expires 1987 JAMES BETHEL, Des Moines; term expires 1987 BERNARD BIDNE, Forest City; term expires 1987 PAUL BRODIGAN, Glenwood; term expires 1987 HOPE CARR, Carson; term expires 1988 LaVAUN EARWOOD, Lohrville; term expires 1987 WILLIAM GLYNN, Bettendorf; term expires 1988 RONALD GROOMS, Ames; term expires 1988 B.L. HAWN, Waterloo; term expires 1988 EDWARD HEIM, JR., Des Moines; term expires 1988 RICHARD HOPKINS, Davenport; term expires 1987 JACQUELYNN HOWARD, Des Moines; term expires 1987 ROBERT KOZEL, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1988 MAE MILLER, Chariton; term expires 1988 FRANK MOLLENHOFF, Waterloo; term expires 1987 KATHLEEN O'LEARY, Des Moines; term expires 1988 MERLE SMITH, Sioux City; term expires 1988 VERA SMITH, Fairfield; term expires 1987 BILL SNIDER, Iowa City; term expires 1987 JOHN STASCHKE, Wilton; term expires 1988 WILLIAM WAGNER, Dallas Center; term expires 1988 ARLYN WEIENETH, Ankeny; term expires 1988 EDWARD WINTER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1987

The Commission of Persons with Disabilities (formerly Governor's Committee on Employment of the Handicapped) operates as a division of the Iowa Department of Human Rights. The commission is composed of 24 members and eight ex-officio members who are in charge of other state agencies interested in employment for disabled persons.

Members of the commission include disabled persons as well as representatives from industry, labor, business, agriculture, federal, state and local government and representatives of religious, charitable, fraternal, civic, educational, medical, legal,

veteran, welfare, women's and other professional groups and organizations.

Members of the commission are appointed for a term of two years and may be

reappointed when their terms expire.

The commission is charged with cooperating with all public and private agencies interested in employment of disabled persons and with encouraging and assisting in the organization of committees at the community level.

The members work closely in developing employer acceptance of qualified workers with disabilities and informing individuals with disabilities of specific facilities

available in seeking employment.

Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission

Miguel A. Teran, administrator; First Floor, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319: 515-281-4080

ALFREDO BENAVIDEZ, Iowa City; term expires 1987 LARRY M. BOLANOS, Sioux City; term expires 1987 JOHN RAY DELGADO, Burlington; term expires 1987 CHRISTINA M. GONZALES, Des Moines; term expires 1987 RUDOLPH T. JUAREZ, Muscatine; term expires 1987 FLORENCE KELLER, Council Bluffs; term expires 1987 SYLVIA RODRIGUEZ, Davenport; term expires 1987 STEFFEN W. SCHMIDT, Ames; term expires 1987 JOHN SERRANO, JR., Davenport; term expires 1987

In 1976, the Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission was created by the General Assembly, to act as an advocacy and advisory agency for Spanish-speaking Iowans in certain areas of concern, including education, employment, health, housing,

administration of justice, welfare and recreation.

The nine member commission appointed by the governor, sets policy and direction for the staff. As of July 1, 1986, the staff support for the commission is provided by the Division for Spanish Speaking People, part of the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation. Its mandate set forth in chapter 16, Code of Iowa, 1977, was amended, assigning additional responsibilities for recommending interpreters for use by Iowa courts.

Status of Women, Iowa Commission on the

Charlotte Nelson, administrator: 507 10th Street, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4461

PATRICIA L. GEADELMANN, chair, Cedar Falls; term expires 1988 AN C. BERGSTROM, Cedar Falls; term expires 1990 PATRICIA R. BOESEN, Des Moines; term expires 1990 MARY E. CAMPOS, Des Moines; term expires 1990 NAOMI CHRISTENSEN, Hastings; term expires 1988 CELESTINE DEVINE, Corwith; term expires 1988 DONNA FURLEIGH, Clear Lake; term expires 1988 MILDRED I. FREEL, Iowa City; term expires 1990 NANCY R. HAUSERMAN, Iowa City; term expires 1990 RUTH I. HOLTON, Forest City; term expires 1990 EUNICE KUYPER, Knoxville; term expires 1988 R. JOANNE LIENEMANN, Adel; term expires 1990 DARWIN T. LYNNER, Des Moines; term expires 1990 MIGNON MANELLI, Ames; term expires 1990 GRETTA MERKLEY. Des Moines; term expires 1988 JAMES MIDDLESWART, Indianola; term expires 1988 MARY JEAN MONTGOMERY, Spencer; term expires 1988