including education, employment, health, housing, administration of justice, welfare, and recreation.

The present Commission of Latino Affairs, appointed by the Governor, sets policy and direction for the staff. As of 1986, the staff support for the commission is provided by the Division of Latino Affairs, within the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation. The division's mandate, set forth in Iowa Code chapter 216A, has been amended, assigning additional responsibilities for recommending interpreters for use by Iowa courts.

## DIVISION OF PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)242-6334 or (888)219-0471

Jill Fulitano Avery, Administrator..... Serves at Pleasure of Governor

## COMMISSION OF PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

## §216A.2, 216A.72 Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)242-6334 or (888)219-0471

		Term Enang Duler	
Name	City	Type of Appointment	
Thomas Crabb, Chair			
Mary Ament			
Joel Barnett			
Aida Bogaczyk			
Dennis Clark		· · ·	
Howard Cole Jr		····· ,	
Susan Curtland		···· ,	
Eileen Eimers	Des Moines	June 30, 2008	
Barbara Faber	West Des Moines	June 30, 2009	
Joseph Hays	Truro	June 30, 2009	
Kathy Hill			
Mary Moravek	Mechanicsville	June 30, 2008	
Deborah Nagle	Cedar Falls	June 30, 2009	
Michael Pack Sr.	Des Moines	June 30, 2008	
James Rixner	Sioux City	June 30, 2009	
Lora Shramek	Amana	June 30, 2008	
Liz Smith	Woodward	June 30, 2008	
Brenton Soderstrum	West Des Moines	June 30, 2009	
Anthony Stevenson	Altoona	June 30, 2008	
Karen Tedrow			
Harry Van Grevenhof	Fort Dodge	June 30, 2008	
Kathryn Walton	Indianola	June 30, 2009	
Frances Wilke			
Ex officio members:			
Ruth Allison, designee of Administrator, Vocational Rehabilitation Services Division,			
Department of Education		Statutory	
Kevin Concannon, Director, Department of	of Human Services	Statutory	
Sharon Hawthorne, designee of Director of Education		Statutory	
Doug Keast, designee of Director, Department of Workforce Development			
Binnie LeHew, designee of Director of Public Health		Statutory	
Bonnie Linquist, designee of Director, Department for the Blind		Statutory	
Becky Maddy Harker, Governor's Developmental Disabilities Council		Statutory	
Dave Neil, Labor Commissioner			
Walter Reed Jr., Director, Department of Human Rights			
Brenda Reilley, designee of Director, Dep	Statutory		
Marjorie Shade, designee of Workers' Co	mpensation Commissioner	Statutory	
- · ·	-	-	

Term Ending Date/

The Commission of Persons With Disabilities, formerly known as the Governor's Committee for the Handicapped, was created by statute in 1965. The 24-member commission is appointed by the Governor and 11 nonvoting representatives from various state agencies serve ex officio. Its principal function is to promote employment opportunities for people with disabilities throughout the state. The commission sets policy and direction for the staff who comprise the Division of Persons With Disabilities within the Department of Human Rights. In 1991, the Governor designated the Division of Persons With Disabilities to operate the Iowa Client Assistance Program. The division administrator is appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation. The commission is mandated to:

1. Cooperate with all public and private agencies interested in the employment of persons with disabilities.

I

- 2. Cooperate with all agencies responsible for or interested in the rehabilitation and placement of persons with disabilities.
- 3. Encourage the organization of committees at the community level and work closely with such committees in promoting the employment of persons with disabilities.
- 4. Assist in developing employer acceptance of qualified workers who are persons with disabilities.
- 5. Inform persons with disabilities of specific facilities available in seeking employment.
- 6. Conduct such educational programs as members deem necessary.
- Report annually to the Governor and General Assembly on commission activities and submit any recommendations believed necessary in promoting the employment of persons with disabilities.
- 8. Pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 216A, be responsible for budgetary and personnel decisions for the commission and division.

DIVISION ON THE STATUS OF AFRICAN-AMERICANS Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-7283

Abraham Funchess Jr., Administrator ...... Serves at Pleasure of Governor

## COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF AFRICAN-AMERICANS

§216A.2, 216A.142

Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-7283

		Term Ending Date/	
Name	City	Type of Appointment	
Michael D. Blackwell, Chair	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2010	
Beverly Allen	Des Moines	April 30, 2008	
John Campbell Jr	Des Moines	April 30, 2008	
Charles Clayton	Fort Dodge	April 30, 2010	
Marlene Jessop	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2009	
Redmond Jones II	Davenport	April 30, 2010	
Treyla Lee-Chavis	Sioux City	April 30, 2008	
Krystal Madlock	Waterloo	April 30, 2008	
Jerome Thomas	Dubuque	April 30, 2008	
Ex officio member:			
Walter Reed Jr., Director, Departme	Statutory		

The Commission on the Status of African-Americans, formerly known as the Commission on the Status of Blacks, was created by statute in 1988. The Governor appoints the nine citizen members of the commission, which sets policy for and provides direction to the Status of African-Americans Division within the Department of Human Rights. The division administrator is appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation.