pecting, engineering and drainage prospects. Parts of Hamilton, Boone, Story, Dallas, Polk, Warren, Marion, Mahaska, Lucas, Monroe, Webster and Humboldt counties have been covered. These maps are printed by the federal government and may be purchased at a cost of ten cents each from the United States Geological Survey or from the Iowa Geological Survey. They are bounded not by county lines, but by meridians of longitude and parallels of latitude, and each map covers about 275 square miles. Topographical surveys were made in the northeast part of Iowa by the United States Geological Survey a number of years ago and the maps covering this area are available also.

IOWA STATE HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY

President-S. A. BEACH, Ames. Vice President-F. O. HARRINGTON, Williamsburg. Secretary-R. S. HERRICK, Des Moines. Secretary-C. N. KINNEY, Des Moines. Librarian-R. S. HERRICK, Des Moines. President Emeritus-WESLEY GREENE, Des Moines.

DIRECTORS

RALPH J. MCKISSICE, Albla.
S. W. SNYDER, Center Point.
ROBERT M. CLARK, Mitchellville.
C. H. TRUE, Edgewood.
BLAINE C. WILCOX, Council Bluffs,
E. M. SHERMAN, Charles City.
MILLARD HARRINGTON, Williamsburg.
R. F. O'DONNELL, Mason City.
W. P. DAWSON, Aurelia.
EARL FERRIS, Hampton.
FRANCIS SESTIER, Des Moines.
R. J. PRARSE, Des Moines.

The state horticultural society is composed of six affiliated societies, which are: The Iowa fruit growers' association, the Iowa vegetable growers' association, the society of Iowa fiorists, the Iowa bee keepers' association, the Iowa society of landscape architects and the Iowa nurserymen's association. Each affiliated society has representation on the board of directors.

The state horticultural society has four auxiliary or district societies, which are: Northwestern, northeastern, southeastern and southwestern horticultural societies.

Anyone interested in horticulture, forestry or bee culture is entitled to membership in the state society, affiliated societies or district societies. The life membership in the state society is \$10.00 and the annual dues in the state society, district and affiliated societies is \$1.00. There is an annual meeting of the state society held each year at such time and such place as is decided upon by the board of directors. The state society publishes an annual report containing the reports of all of the affiliated and district societies and the annual report of the state society.

The object of the state society is to promote horticulture, forestry and bee culture in all of its phases, by the holding of a horticultural exposition, by assisting in practical demonstrations in orchard and garden management, by securing wholesale prices on orchard and garden spray material, machines and harvesting equipment, by assisting in horticultural tours, by answering inquiries along horticultural lines and by co-operating with other state institutions ptomoting horticulture.

226

ł

STATE FORESTRY COMMISSIONER

R. S. HEBRICK, of Des Moines, secretary of the State Horticultural Society, is ex-officio state forestry commissioner, and Prof. G. B. MacDonald, of the forestry department, Iowa state college, Ames, is deputy state forestry commissioner. Both serve without compensation.

The object of the law is to encourage the planting of forest and fruit trees in the state. The act provides that any person owning land in the state may plant or select a tract of land not less than two acres in area for forest reservation, provided there shall not be less than two hundred forest trees growing on each acre and that cattle, horses, mules, sheep, goats and hogs are not permitted on said reservation.

A fruit reservation shall not be less than one or more than ten acres in area and can be claimed for a period of eight years after planting; provided, that there are not less than forty apple trees, or seventy other fruit trees, growing on each acre, under proper care,

Forest and fruit tree reservations are assessed at a taxable value of one dollar an acre.

Any landowner in this state wishing to enter a forest or fruit tree reservation, or both, should do so when the assessor is listing property for assessment.

IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

OFFICERS

President-D. W. MOREHOUSE, Des Moines. First Vice President-D. W. MOREHOUSE, Des Moines. Second Vice President-R. B. WYLE, Iowa City. Secontary-JAMES H. LEES, Des Moines. Treasurer-A. O. THOMAS, Iowa City.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Ex-Officio-The officers named above.

Elective-H. E. JAQUES, Mt. Pleasant,

J. E. GUTHRIE, Ames.

L. D. WELD, Cedar Rapids.

. "The object of the academy shall be the encouragement of scientific work in the state of Iowa."

. Membership is not limited to those giving their time to the advancement of science, either in teaching or in original research, but is open to those interested in scientific subjects,

Members of the academy are divided into three groups: (1) fellows, who shall be elected from residents of the state of Iowa actively engaged in scientific work; (2) associates, residents of the state of Iowa who are interested in "the progress of science, but not direct contributors to original research, and (3) honorary fellows, to be elected by vote from original workers in science in other states."

Papers of general interest in addition to those that are technically scientific are presented at each annual meeting.

Meetings are held each spring, time and place being fixed by the executive committee.

The academy publishes each year a volume containing a report of the proceedings of the annual meeting and the papers which have been presented at that time.