The law which provided for the organization of the Iowa Geological Survey outlined its work to be that of making "a complete survey of the natural resources of the state in their economic and actentific aspects, including the determination of the characteristics of the various formations and the investigation of the different ores, coals, clays, building stones and other useful materials."

The present geological survey was organized in 1892 and since that time has been engaged in two lines of research. The first of these is the detailed study of the geology of the state by countles. In this work all the natural features of interest and value are studied and described, such as the general character of the surface, its soils, water resources, deposits of valuable minerals and other like topics.

The second line of work has been that of special investigation of the minerals of the state. Thus the coal deposits have twice been studied and reported on and an extensive examination of the peat beds has been made. Similar studies have been made of the lead and zinc of the Dubuque region and of the gypsum field at Fort Dodge. The clays of the state and their qualities have been investigated and the availability and suitability for road and concrete purposes of the sand, gravel and limestone deposits have been determined. The survey has since its organization kept careful records of the deep wells of the state and has also carried on an investigation of the character of surface waters. A resource which will be of increasing importance as Iowa becomes more of an industrial state is that of water power, which has been closely studied for several years. A large amount of work remains yet to be done before our knowledge of the geology of the state is complete, as much of the earlier study was of necessity largely reconnaissance work and needs to be supplemented by the results of later work done under more favorable conditions.

For several years past the state survey has co-operated with the national survey in the making of topographic maps of the Des Moines valley. These maps show the character of the surface, the drainage, and elevations above sea level, as well as cultural features. They are of especial value in coal prospecting, engineering and drainage projects. Parts of Hamilton, Boone, Story, Dallas, Poik, Warren, Marion, Mahaska, Lucas, and Monroe counties have been covered. These maps are printed by the federal government and may be purchased at a cost of ten cents each from the United States Geological Survey or from the Iowa Geological Survey. They are bounded not by county lines but by meridians of longitude and parallels of latitude and each map covers about 225 square miles. Topographic surveys were made in the northeast part of Iowa by the United States Geological Survey a number of years ago and the maps covering this area are available also.

IOWA STATE HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—S. A. BEACH, Ames.
Vice President—C. G. BLOOGETT, Mt. Pleasant.
Secretary—Wesley Greens, Des Moines.
Treasurer—Frank O. Harrington, Williamsburg.
Librarian—Wesley Greens, Des Moines.
DIRBOTORS.

First District—J. H. WILEY, Bonaparte.
Second District—W. T. RICHEY, Albia.
Third District—F. P. SPENCER, Randolph.
Fourth District—S. W. SNYDER, Center Point.
Fifth District—Millard Harrington, Williamsburg.
Sight District—Carles O, Garrett, Des Moines.
Seventh District—W. P. Dawson, Aurelia.
Eighth District—Charles H. True, Edgewood.
Ninth District—William C. Havilland, Fort Dodge,
Tenth District—P. F. Kinne, Storm Lake.
Eleventh District—Charles F. Gardner, Osage.
Twelfit District—Eugene Secor, Forest City.

The directors for the odd-numbered districts are elected in the even-numbered years, and those for the even-numbered districts in the odd-numbered years.

Any resident of the state is eligible to membership in the society. The secretary will on application furnish information relating to membership.

The annual meeting begins on Tucsday before the second Wednesday in December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arboriculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of promotical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. The rooms of the society are kept open at all times for the reception of visitors. All communications on horticultural topics will be promptly answered by the secretary.

STATE FORESTRY COMMISSIONER.

Wesley Greene, of Scott county, secretary of the state hortcultural society is ex officio state forestry commissioner. His address is Des Moines, Iowa. He serves as commissioner without compensation. The law authorizes him to appoint deputies to serve without salary for each county or group of counties, who shall assist him in the performance of his duties, and also make report to him annually of forestry matters for the use of the horticultural society.

The object of the law is to encourage the planting of forest and fruit trees in the state. The act provides that any person owning land in the state may plant or select a tract of land not less than two acres in area for a forest reservation, provided there shall not be less than two hundred forest trees growing on each acre and that cattle, horses, mules, sheep, goats and hoge are not permitted on said reservation.

A fruit reservation shall not be less than one or more than ten acres in area and can be claimed for a period of eight years after planting; provided that there are not less than forty apple trees, or seventy other fruit trees growing on each acre, under proper care.

Forest and fruit tree reservations are assessed at a taxable value of one dollar an acre.

Any landowner in this state wishing to enter a forest or fruit tree reservation, or both, should do so when the assessor is listing property for assessment.

IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE.

OFFICERS.

President—T. C. Stephens, Sloux City.

First Vice-President—Nicholas Knight, Mt. Vernon, Second Vice-President—D. W. Morehouse, Des Moines.

Secretary—James H. Lees, Des Moines.

Treasurer—A. O. Thomas, Iowa City.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE,

No officio—T. C. Stephens, Nicholas Knight, James H. Lees, A. O. Thomas, Elective—P. B. Brown, Ames; Ira S. Condit, Cedar Falls; S. W. Stockey, Cedar Rapids.

"The object of the academy shall be the encouragement of scientific work in the state of Iowa."

Membership is not limited to those giving their time to the advancement of science either in teaching or in original research, but is open to those interested in scientific subjects.

Members of the academy are divided into four groups: (1) fellows, who shall be elected from residents of the state of Iowa actively engaged in scientific work; (2) associates, residents of the state of Iowa who are interested in