lege and the duties prescribed by the law are such that an extensive organization is necessary. Under the law as amended by the thirty-sixth general assembly the duties of the commission are as follows:

First. To devise and adopt plans of highway construction suited to the needs of the different counties of the state.

Second. To disseminate information and instruction to road officers of the state.

Third. To issue an annual report to the governor relative to the operations of the commission.

Fourth. To appoint such assistants as are necessary to carry on the work of the commission.

Fifth. To make investigations as to conditions or road and bridge work in the counties.

Sixth. To have general supervision over the county and township officers in the state and to enforce the provisions of the road law.

Seventh. To devise plans and conduct negotiations between railroad and local officials for the elimination of danger at railroad crossings.

Eighth. To assist county boards of supervisors and the attorney general in defense of patent suits.

Ninth. To have charge of the survey and administration of meandered lakes.

STATE FIRE MARSHAL.

Appointed by the Governor. Term four years. Compensation, \$2,500.

OLB O. Ros, of Des Moines, Polk county. Term expires July 1, 1919. The office of state fire marshal was created by an act of the thirty-fourth general assembly.

The principal duties of the fire marshal are to investigate the cause, origin and circumstances of every fire occurring in the state; to determine if any building or structures, by reason of want of proper repair or by reason of age and dilapidated condition, are especially liable to fire; to require teachers in public and private schools to have at least one fire drill a month and instruct the pupils at least four times a year in the causes and dangers of fire; to make an annual report to the governor. For the purpose of enforcing the orders of the fire marshal suitable penalties and fines are provided and he and his assistants are empowered to administer oaths and compet the attendance of witnesses. If the state fire marshal shall be of the opinion that there is evidence sufficient to charge any person with the crime of arson or criminal conduct in connection with any fire he shall cause such person to be arrested.

Provision is made for the appointment of a deputy fire marshal at a salary of eighteen hundred dollars a year, and of a state inspector or inspectors, known to be competent and skilled in the inspection of buildings and their contents, and of such other help as may be necessary. Reports are required to be made to the fire marshal by all chiefs of fire departments of each and every fire, and where there is no established fire department the report is to be made by the mayor of incorporated cities and towns, and by township clerks outside of incorporated cities and towns. An appropriation of \$13,500 a year is provided for defraying the expenses of the office.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—F. P. SPENCER, Randolph. Vice-President—W. B. CHAPMAN, Correctionville. Secretary—WESLEY GREENE, Davenport. Treasurer—FRANK O. HARRINGTON, Williamsburg. Librarian—WESLEY GREENE, Davenport.

DIRECTORS.

First District-Chauncey G. Blodgett, Mount Pleasant.

Second District-W. T. Richey, Albia.

Third District-George H. Van Houten, Lenox.

Fourth District-Abraham B. Dennis, Cedar Rapids.

Fifth District-Millard Harrington, Williamsburg.

Sixth District-Charles O. Garrett, Des Moines.

Seventh District-G. B. Healy, Sioux City.

Eighth District-Charles H. True, Edgewood.

Ninth District-William C. Haviland, Fort Dodge.

Tenth District-Lewis A. Clemons, Storm Lake.

Eleventh District-Charles F. Gardner, Osage.

Twelfth District-Eugene Secor, Forest City.

The directors for the odd-numbered districts are elected in the even-numbered years, and those for the even-numbered districts in the odd numbered years.

Any resident of the state is eligible to membership in the society. The secretary will on application furnish information relating to membership.

The annual meeting begins on Tuesday before the second Wednesday in December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arborculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. The rooms of the society are kept open at all times for the reception of visitors. All communications on horticultural topics will be promptly answered by the secretary.

STATE FORESTRY COMMISSIONER.

WESLEY GREENE, of Scott county, secretary of the state horticultural society is ex-officio state forestry commissioner. His address is Des Moines, Iowa. He serves as commissioner without compensation. The law authorizes him to appoint deputies to serve without salary for each county or group of counties, who shall assist him in the performance of his duties, and also make report to him annually of forestry matters for the use of the horticultural society.

The object of the law is to encourage the planting of forest and fruit trees in the state. The act provides that any person owning land in the state may plant or select a tract of land not less than two acres in area for a forest reservation, provided there shall be not less than two hundred forest trees growing on each acre and that cattle, horses, mules, sheep, goats and hogs are not permitted on said reservation.

A fruit reservation shall not be less than one or more than five acres in area and can be claimed for a period of eight years after planting; provided that there are not less than seventy fruit trees growing on each acre, under proper care.

Forest and fruit tree reservations are assessed at a taxable value of one dollar an acre.

Any landowner in this state wishing to enter a forest or fruit tree reservation, or both, should do so when the assessor is listing property for assessment.

BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS.

Chairman—GEORGE COSSON, Attorney-General. GEORGE COSSON, ex officio.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD.

MEMBERS OF THE BORRD.	Terms Expire
JAMES A. DEVITT, Oskaloosa	July 4, 1917
CHARLES W. LEGGETT, Fairfield	
CHARLES W. LEGGETT, Fairfield	July 4, 1916
RALPH PRINGLE, Red Oak	July 4, 1916
FRED W. SARGENT, SIOUX City	July 4, 1916